knits by sachi

Patterns in magazines

on May 2, 2017

This pattern was out last week. I was lucky to spot it at a supermarket.

It is in Woman’s Weekly published in the UK. Editors are always so busy and I don’t get notifications of when my patterns get published. Editing weekly magazine must be tough and I don’t know how they do it. I guess I have to be diligent and looking out for my work.

This is one of the quirky requests I often get from editors, otherwise, I would not even think of knitting robots. They named them Knitbots. Clever!

I like getting requests. It is rewarding when I succeed to meet their brief and receive nice compliments. I also enjoy the challenge, but the best of all, I get inspired to create. Sometimes, I carry on having fun, making similar items after I finish my commission.

Some time ago, I made these dummy holders for the same magazine.

I missed the publication for this one. I haven’t got a slightest clue when these came out. Dummy holder is far from what I need at this moment, but surprisingly, I very much enjoyed designing them. I finished the original request and continue making more holders. It is a bit silly, I know, but I made ladybirds, flowers, chicks and all sorts of things as a motif.

I also discovered that they would make nice brooches, so that I made even more. Animal faces are simple and cute, and seasonal items are also fun to make.

To be honest, there have been some commissions I initially could not feel too excited about. I thought they were not my style or anything I fancy knitting, however, I always ended up having lots of fun with them. I think I truly love creating knitted toys. It is very important for me to work with other people.

This knitting kit is out from Knit Now magazine this month. Making knitting kit is tricky and needs careful planning. I hope many will enjoy the project. This magazine if out for a month, thank goodness, so you have a bit more time to buy a copy from a shop.

As for the missed publications, Woman’s Weekly is putting up all knitting patterns on their website soon. Once it is activated, I will post a link on this page.


4 responses to “Patterns in magazines

  1. Linda says:

    I love all of your patterns but I live in the United States and do not have access to some of the magazines that you are published in. I do get Let’s Knit. Is there any way I can get your patterns. I do love the one that you made pins out of them. Thank you

    Linda Carey

    • knitsbysachi says:

      The very best thing for you (and me!) is to contact the Woman’s Weekly magazine direct through their website and request the pattern. Please always request the magazine editors because sometimes they just give away pattern PDF for free! I know someone contacted Let’s Get Crafting recently and she was given one of my patterns. I have contract with publishers which comes with restrictions, so, if you write to editors, that would be much quicker.

  2. Teresa C. says:

    Hi! I recently found the April copy of Woman’s Weekly with Elton John on the cover, and your sweet bunnies patterns inside. I’m not sure if you wanted a copy of the pattern as it shows in the magazine or if you already have it. I can scan and send to you if you like. All of your projects are so lovely. 🙂 – Teresa, Victoria, BC

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Oh, that is very kind of you! I just got PDF sent from publisher so it is OK. Thank you very much for your offer. If you ever make the bunnies, I would love to see them!

Leave a comment