knits by sachi

Penguin workshop

on February 6, 2017

I have been writing for Let’s Get Crafting magazine for sometime now.

The first time when I was commissioned to make multi-coloured pandas, I was not so sure if I was doing the right thing going along with the editor. It was not at all the kind of toy making I used to do, and I was feeling a little anxious using such vivid coloured synthetic yarn. However, I enjoy the monthly challenges now. I am glad that I went out of my comfort zone.

The latest issue is this one; it has my ostriches.

16107554_1267151450044544_3714625096762709674_o

I was asked to make sitting ostriches. I tried to express ostrich’s character with meaty legs, thin neck and long eyelashes. I could not rely on the colours since the set does not contain black. I also had to be careful not to make the neck too thin so that it can support the weight of the head. I hope they look like ostriches.

img_9704

They have heart shaped feet which may go well for the Valentine’s Day.

Back in December, this patchwork teddy came out.

15420826_1234719499954406_7385858135526611656_n

This design is one of my favorites and it seems quite popular among the readers, too.

img_9519-jpg2

I originally added a ribbon as in the photo above, and I was pleased with how it looked with it, but I guess it had to go because the kit did not contain the ribbon. You can make flowers into brooches as well.

I brought these issues to my local spinners’ group when I ran a workshop last Wednesday. My fellow spinners are such lovely people and they have been very supportive. I know them over fifteen years now.

I offered three projects to try: Rabbit 1 with arms and legs, Rabbit 2 with simple round shape and penguin from Safari book.

img_20170201_141000

My spinners all wanted to try the penguin! There seems to be something about that penguin.

It was a perfect project to do in two hours and everyone went home with their own little creation. We had so much fun together!

img_20170201_141719

img_20170201_160014

Love these quirky penguins!

I came home with a pot of Flamingo flower, homemade apple jelly and marmalade. How thoughtful my spinners are!

I have to do this more often.

img_9976


2 responses to “Penguin workshop

  1. Bomo says:

    Lovely knitted toys! I love how bright and full of character they are. I’d love to make the patchwork teddy bear for a friend but I didn’t get the magazine in December. Is there a way to get the pattern for it now? Xxx

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I think you can get back number through the publisher’s website. It comes with all colours and knitting needles.

      If you decide to make the teddy, please start the head with the colours swapped over. (Cast on with white first) Sorry, there has been a mixed-up.

      I hope you will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

