knits by sachi

Visit to Keito dama

on January 15, 2017

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had nice holidays.

We certainly did. We spent two weeks in Japan and it was just amazing.

Apart from the recent emergency trip in November, our last visit was in 2011. My mother was still well so that we traveled Kyoto and Osaka together. It is a shame that she is in hospital now and probably, she will never get to travel with us again.

However, I was determined to enjoy this trip and had planned many things to do during the stay. First, we visited Tokyo.

My in-laws live in Tokyo but hadn’t seen us for quite some time. Father-in-law had gotten us to stay in a nice hotel with a fantastic view of the Skytree.

file_001-1

One of the exciting event in Tokyo was visiting Nihon Vogue-sha, one of the leading craft book and magazine publishers in Japan. I always wanted to get in contact with Japanese publishers. I was delighted when I received a message inviting me to visit them.

The office I visited was their knitting magazine, ‘Keito-dama’ (translated yarn ball) editorials. Interestingly, the editor I met was a man who is a keen knitter himself. I know there are many male knitters out there, but never had have seen one in person.

img_20161227_114441

I had brought all my book titles and many issues of knitting magazines. I also gave him one of my little knitted work.

This little cat.

img_9929

We talked about knitting and crochet extensively and that was such a joy. Time flew by very quickly.

He gave me a couple of knitting books and the latest copy of their magazine which is full of beautiful designs.

Among many interesting articles, I found this one. It features crochet beaded handbag.

img_9940

The article is about how these bags are made with many hours of effort and are treasured by many, quite often handed down from a generation to a generation. What a coincidence! I thought, because I was just given a crochet bag from my mother a few days previously.

img_9936

img_9937

This bag was made especially for my mother as a wedding gift. It means it was made fifty odd years ago!

It is beaded and crocheted. I cannot fathom how many hours are spent to create this. It is a handbag to go with a Japanese Kimono. Although my mother is very well aware that I do not own a single set of Kimono, she thought I would appreciate it since I am a creator myself. I am very honoured.

Mum thinks her life is approaching toward the end. She has given me all her precious jewelries over the last few years. I used to get upset and became teary every time she did this, but somehow, I learned to accept them with a smile.

I will certainly treasure this beaded bag.


2 responses to “Visit to Keito dama

  1. Julie Henn says:

    I’m glad you had a good trip, despite your mom’s condition – I’m sure you all gathered strength to face what may come! Your mom sounds like an amazing human and has surely had a huge influence in your life! Treasure the gifts both physical and what you have learned from her and what has been passed on to you in your genes! You will honour her life and in turn pass it on to your boys! The circle of life can be tough, but also joyous as we have the gift of memory to hold on to and pass forward! Thank-you for passing on to us complete strangers the gift of glimpses of Japanese culture and celebration! Always uplifting and interesting to read! 🌹

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you so much, Julie. Now you made me teary. I will treasure your words and try to encourage myself when things get really tough. Although I do not own a kimono, I have a dream to get dressed in one for my son’s graduation and/or wedding. I am going to carry this handbag then. I realized how wonderful to be involved in craft through this gift form my mum. I will keep on creating.

Leave a Reply

