knits by sachi

Christmas Felt book

on December 15, 2016

It is always so fun to work in the Search Press studio.

20160826_142728-1

We have just finished the photography for my next book, ‘Christmas Felt Project’ (title is provisional).

There isn’t any better time to work on this book. The timing is just so perfect. Our designer went out and bought a fur tree, baubles, tinsels and crackers for props. We got radio playing Christmas songs in the background. We were certainly in the Christmas spirit.

For the Christmas publications, the photography is often taken place in summer. You can get a fur tree all year around, but the summer trees has yellow-green tips of new leaves. You may notice branches are cut off at the ends next time you see Christmas tree in a magazine! It is great that we did not need to worry about that detail.

img_20161209_083347-jpg2

img_20161209_104929-jpg2

This is my first sewing book. It opens with easy and quick ornament projects as angels and teddies, and then, move on to larger projects which are a little more involved. It comes with many photos showing sewing steps. I had prepared items in different stages to make the photo sessions run smoothly, but it still took quite a long time just to photograph images to go with instructions.

I find it difficult to explain sewing steps quite often. However, my editor, Sophie, has been so great. She sat by me with patience, taking lots of notes while I carry on sewing. I may be able to improve my writing skill a bit as I work on the text for this book.

The book will have beautifully styled photos as my previous books.

I like images to tell stories. We used props carefully for each photo.

This is our prop room at the back of the studio. It looks like a collection of junks, but many of these items have appeared in my books. They are all so useful.

img_20161209_090233-jpg2

We experimented with lighting to create warm atmosphere of holiday season and I think we have achieved it. The photos all look amazing.

cze38akxuaaccrk

My photographer and designer made up a cute charming story with Santa scene. I would love to show the photos, but I think I should keep it a secret until the book comes out.

Sewing felt was the first craft I really enjoyed as a child. I hope the book will inspire many people of all ages and genders.

img_20161209_141047-jpg2


4 responses to “Christmas Felt book

  1. julie camden says:

    These are absolutely gorgeous xxxx

  2. What magical photos. Looking forward to the book!

  3. Fabulous! Interesting to see a bit behind the scenes.

Leave a Reply

