knits by sachi

Fantastic 100 yen shops

on November 28, 2016

We went to see Mum at hospital every afternoon and spent a couple of hours chatting once she started recovering. I wondered if my son was getting with this routine, but later he told me that it was his favorite part of this trip. He grew up without seeing much of his grand parents or his cousins. He likes spending time with family.

We spent mornings browsing shopping centres and supermarkets. For my son especially, these places are as interesting as museums or theme parks.

The first stop: 100 yen shop.
100 yen shops are discount shops which sell wide range of goods for 100 yen. This corresponds roughly to one US dollar or 70 p in GBP. Market leader is ‘Daiso’ which operates over two thousand stores nationwide.

images-43

We have pound shops in the UK, but the range of products and quality 100 yen shops offer is no comparison. They sell tableware, kitchenware,DIY tools,garden tools, stationery, household goods, sweets and snacks, dry food and some leisure goods. If you look through each isle, it takes quite a while.

img_20161111_112317

100 yen shops are able to offer an amazing range of products, many of which are their own store branded goods. Some are priced below the product’s actual value. They do this mainly by purchasing products in huge quantities direct from manufacturers.

Many visitors from all over the world come to enjoy budget shopping in Japan.

I bought dry food and utensils for my son in uni. My younger son got Japanese sweets and a new pair of chop sticks. He also got almond M&Ms for his school friend.

img_20161111_111234

You can get a sushi mat for 70 p, too!

img_20161111_111150

Some products are innovative inventions. I found these ‘chair socks’ to prevent the legs of a chair or a stool scratch wooden floor. I got two sets for our kitchen.

img_20161114_102855

And me? Yarn of course!

I found 100% wool yarn. How could I resist? It is multi-coloured and I found it quite pretty.

img_9833

I had a go at making something Christmassy with it.

img_9835

And this teddy. It is very sweet and I just had to have it.

img_20161126_095229-jpg2

So, if you ever go to Japan, do visit 100 yen shop before you go shopping elsewhere!


2 responses to “Fantastic 100 yen shops

  1. notewords says:

    That is a very cute bear! 😉

Leave a Reply

