knits by sachi

Knitted Wine Gnomes for autumn

on October 10, 2016

There was a project I wanted to do for some time.

Gnomes making wine. It is a timely project for autumn.

First, I thought of making little fairies or children in the forest, but alcohol and children don’t go too well. I also wanted to add a bit of humour by creating a drunken one, so, I settle with gnomes.

Gnomes are adults and they can be mischievous, yes?

I searched some images which may give me good inspirations and this was one of them. I found it on Pinterest.

wine-gnome

I like the naughty look on their faces!

I always search for images when I plan a project. It is great that we can find loads of photos and illustrations online. My finished work usually turn up very different from the original source, but inspirations often come from other artists’ creations.

It seems that the prints are available from one of the sellers on Etsy.

Now, my wine gnomes.

img_7548

They are rather young looking and do not have very mischievous look, but I think they are cute. You can see the resemblance to the Pinterest picture in their positioning.

img_7546

My most concern was the keg size. I needed to make it big. I had a rough idea on stitch counts, but was very nervous at the making up stage. I think it turned out fine.

My drunk gnome is sleeping by the grapes.

img_7555

And here is the full cast.

img_7543-jpg2

I have a friend who owns a winery in France. After graduating uni, she went on studying wine. She passed the notoriously difficult sommelier exam, met a man in life who happened to own a winery and moved to France. Very sadly, he passed away all of a sudden a few years ago, leaving her and their young children. However, she took over the winery and now, she runs it on her own! She is utterly amazing.

Her teenage son is currently in a winemaking school (only in France?)
I would love to visit them some day.

Her winery is called Simon Bize et fils (Simon Bize and Sons) and if you are interested, the website is here:

img_7550


9 responses to “Knitted Wine Gnomes for autumn

  1. julie kendall says:

    Absolutely Fantastic. This is amazing love all your work,such wonderful details. xx

  2. notewords says:

    They are all charming. Love the grapes! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Gnomes only. Fill my hat for the winter please. Gnomes know where to go when winter comes:
    https://flahertylandscape.wordpress.com/2016/10/23/gnome-next-spring/
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. SleepyTown says:

    So cute! I love Autumn, and these are a perfect decoration

Leave a Reply

