knits by sachi

Orange Page

on July 9, 2016

I have been subscribing a Japanese lifestyle magazine “Orange Page” since I came to England. It has been over 10 years now, and I still look forward to receiving each copy.

IMG_9305

It comes out biweekly. It has lots of home cooking recipes as well as tips and information on a variety of things such as health, craft and needlework. I honestly do not know how the publisher manages releasing issues so often with so many pages. And it only costs 350 yen per issue which is under £3 pounds! (in today’s awfully weak sterling rate)

If you read Japanese, you can subscribe magazine from this site. https://www.japancentre.com/en/products/271-orange-page-biweekly-magazine

Just a few days ago, I received another issue, and this one had a curry recipe collection.
As I mentioned in the past, we love our curry. It may be a little different from the original Indian curry, but we often cook it at home.

The magazine was featuring T-shirts with curry logos. Funny.

FotorCreated.jpgt

I saw many interesting cooking ideas in the magazine, and some are very new to me. For example, there are detailed step-by-step instructions on how to make chapatis. After my son came back from World challenge in Africa, he said he really loved chapatis over there. Maybe we should have a go at making some at home.

My mum used to make this dish with curry spices and she would call it “dry curry”. I think “dry curry” is the curry without much liquid, which resembles to Keema curry. But my mum would stir fry cooked rice with spices,the same method as egg fried rice.

I cook it at home and it is one of my boys’ favorite.

IMG_9381

It is so easy and quick. It is a good way to consume leftover rice, too.

Recipe for one
a bowl of cooked rice (as much as you want to eat)
1/4 onion, minced
small amounts of chopped pimento, carrot, green beans or any vegetable of your choice
minced beef (or any meat)
1 tsp curry powder
1 tbsp pureed tomato
1 tsp Worcester sauce
salt and pepper

I cooked it for boys’ lunch so that the portions is bigger.

Stir fry vegetables and meat with seasonings. Add cooked rice and mix well. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_9378

IMG_9379

That is about it. I can’t think of any further instructions.

I think my boy can manage that when he starts living on his own for Uni.

If you are interested in Japanese home cooking recipes, you can find a lot here: https://cookpad.com/uk


One response to “Orange Page

  1. I used to buy Orange Page regularly. I loved it. I’m just not home cooking enough to make good use of it. 😅

Leave a Reply

