knits by sachi

Our midweek sushi

on May 24, 2016

A bit of Bento style. One for my husband who comes home late.

IMG_9226

My family loves home made sushi. I use anything I find in my fridge for stuffing and toppings so that our sushi is very inexpensive. I’d like to make them more often, but I have to say sushi making is time consuming. Not for a very busy day.

But I can make Inari-zushi, pretty much any day of the week.

inari-zushi is homely sushi that is stuffed into a fried tofu skin or aburaage. I use pre-made (canned or vacuum packed) skins from Asian market. This way, all I have to do is season the rice and stuff it into skins.

I don’t think you have to feel guilty for using pre-made skins. Most of us do, even a keen home cook like my mum. Pre-made Inari skins are not only convenient, but actually taste better than home made ones.

I buy this product.
IMG_9227

All you have to do is cook rice, season it and stuff.

For 3 cups of (uncooked) sushi rice,

Sushi rice seasoning
4 Tbsp rice vinegar
3 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt

Gently heat it in a sauce pan to dissolve sugar and salt. Do not bring to boil.

Mix it into hot steamed rice. When it is cooled and easy to handle, moisture your hand, make a small rice ball with one hand and stuff it into the skin. Fold the opening and place them sealed side down.

IMG_9222

IMG_9223

IMG_9224

That is the basic. I have added toasted sesami seeds to the rice this time. You can add finely chopped and cooked vegetables to it as well.

I found these on internet. Some people have gone very creative.

download (9)

images (5)

Inari zushi is sweet and savory. Tofu skin is cooked in soy sauce, rice wine and sugar.

It may be a bit boring if I serve only Inari, so, I made quick and easy egg sushi and tuna mayonnaise rolls.

For egg sushi, you make egg omulet in rectangle shape and slice it. Place the egg slice on top of the rice ball and wrap a Nori strip around it.

My omlet was a little small this time and the rice balls became bigger than the egg slice, but never mind.

Inari is the Shinto god for fertility, rice, agriculture and foxes. He is often depicted, as a bearded man riding a white fox. Inari zushi is also called “fox sushi” because fried tofu skin was allegedly his and his foxes’ favourite food.

It is my younger son’s absolute favorite, too. He loves his fox sushi since he was very little.

I love seeing smiles at the dinner time.

SCAN0001

(Sushi pressed into a mold to look like a cake and my son aged 3)


Leave a Reply

