knits by sachi

Challenging commission

on April 19, 2016

Lovely photo.
LGC81-STYLED-046

Many knitting magazines come with cover mount knitting kit these days.

I mentioned in the Facebook some time ago that I received a rather interesting commission.

It is to knit two pandas using six different coloured yarn, each weighing about 20g.

Six different colours! And it doesn’t have black yarn.

The kit came with wooden needles and two pairs of black beads to use for the eyes.

This is very different from what I normally do.

I have done kits for Knit Now magazines in the past, but these were quite small and not too difficult. I got to do the design first, and the editor order the kit. I had the freedom to choose the needle size, yarn weight and amount of yarn.

But this time, I had to make up the design using the kit I was given. The yarn is thicker than commercially available Double Knit yarn, giving you less yardage, and the needles much fatter than my usual 2.75mm.

And the colours! How am I supposed to make two pandas with six different colours? And they are so vivid and bright!

This is completely out of my comfort zone!

I drew a few designs and coloured them in with colour pencils. They will be very quirky, and I don’t do quirky too well. But never mind. I was determined to produce something with a bit of my own style.

Work in progress.

IMG_9855

And I managed producing pandas at the end.

LGC81-STYLED-042

LGC80-CUTOUTS-015

I could go very wild with colour combinations and knit ears in different colours from eyes and limbs, but I was afraid that the result may get too confusing. The colours were crazy enough already.

I know this is not everyone’s cup of tea. I am more comfortable knitting small toys with natural fibers in soft colours.

But I remember once that one of my followers said although she loved all my work, her arthritis hands do not allow her to make small knits. She enjoys knitting, but cannot make small toys. These pandas may work well for someone like her.

They may be good for people with visual impairment, too. My brother has colour weakness and cannot differentiate some of the subtle colours. And small children may like these exciting colours.

To be honest, I was more worried than pleased when I received this commission. But to my surprise, I found myself enjoying the challenge very much.

I hope many people will get involved making these quirky pandas.

Another kit arrived. This time, i am to make cat and mouse.

IMG_0150


3 responses to “Challenging commission

  1. jujuhooks says:

    Like you I would have been a bit dubious about the colours, But hey arn’t they just so cute. Well done can’t wait to see the next challenge.xx PS absolutely adore all your beautiful creations.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! I think it is good to go out of your comfort zone once in a while. After this challenge, I feel more free when it comes to colour choice and, I have knitted penguins in purple and aqua blue. I used Rowan felted tweed, so they came out quite stylish.

  2. Verónica says:

    So cute! Love those pandas.

Leave a Reply

