knits by sachi

Knitted Ferris Wheel

on April 5, 2016

Can you guess what I am up to?
IMG_8502

I like doing small projects which only take a day or two, but sometimes, I get this urge to get involved in a little bigger project.

I still take a small step at a time. I quite often set it aside to make time for magazine commissions and other jobs.

I have written about my knitted amusement park projects and that is one of them.

I added another item to the park, and this time, it is the Ferris wheel.

I have to think hard and plan well before I started knitting. I didn’t want it to go too wrong and re-knit it again and again.

First, the design.
I researched on handmade Ferris wheels. It seems some people have made them with cardboard, plywood, plastic bottles or carton boxes. I didn’t find any knitted one. Maybe I am the only one who even think of knitting a Ferris wheel.

That is good, I want to be the first to knit it.

The actual wheels normally have the seating gondolas between the front and back panels, but I decided to place them in the front so that you can see the figures better. I didn’t want my little animals to be hidden.

So the gondolas hang in front of the wheel.
IMG_8513

I cut two pieces of cardboard in circle, stick them together with masking tape and wrapped it with tissue paper. If I covered this part with knitting, I thought it would be too heavy.

The supporting box is covered with knitting. I placed ceramic beads inside the box so that the wheels would not fall over.

Then, my babies and their friends. This is always the fun part!
FotorCreated.jpg1FotorCreated.jpg2FotorCreated.jpg3

The wheel has six gondolas and two figures go in each one.

IMG_8501.jpgbest

I had no idea why it is called Ferris wheel. Apparently, it is named after George Washington Gale Ferris, Jr. who designed and constructed one as a landmark for the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago.

We live only one hour away from London, but never been on the London Eye, the giant wheel on South Bank of the river Themes.

I should have a go someday.


7 responses to “Knitted Ferris Wheel

  1. dosirakbento says:

    This looks so amazing!
    You mention commissions, do you sell any of your cute animals?

  2. jujuhooks says:

    Oh this is so adorable love all your works,brilliant xxxxxxx

  3. Oh my word – this is SO cute! Love all of your work.

Leave a Reply

