knits by sachi

Eight treasure stir fry?

on March 28, 2016

img_5767.jpg2

Easter is one of the events that I wish my kids were still little. I used to love egg hunt with my children, and we visited many parks and National Trust gardens to enjoy it.
Now my kids are way too grown up, and I guess I have to wait for grandchildren to arrive some day.

We don’t eat much chocolate at home, but I love those tiny chocolate eggs. They are very cute.

They reminded me of quail eggs. In fact, I bought quail eggs instead this year. No sugar.

I know it is not too common to cook quail eggs in England. The bird is often eaten, but not the eggs. I have seen mini scotch eggs, but that is pretty much all I know.

In Japan, it is opposite. It is very difficult to buy the bird, but we often enjoy the eggs.They are boiled, peeled and cooked in soy sauce or fried with bread crumbs. They are also favoured for Bento box (lunch box).
I found incredibly cute Bento box art with quail eggs on internet.

quail eggs

I love this one. It is perfect for Easter! It is too cute to eat!
images (7)

My favorite dish with quail egg is “Happosai”, literally meaning eight treasure stir fry.
It is stir fry with lots of lots of different kinds of vegetables. Basically, you can add any vegetables, meat or shell fish and add the sauce at the end. I am sure each family has their own recipe. My mum used to include quail eggs in it, and now I cannot think of Happosai without them.

Makes 4 servings
Ingredients:

Hakusai/Chinese cabbage 3-4 leaves
50g Broccoli
1/4 bell pepper
mangetout
1/4 carrot
3 shiitake mushrooms
1/2 tin bamboo shoot
quail eggs (hard boiled) 12 eggs
100g pork (can be chicken, ham or any meat)
5-6 large prawns
4 crab sticks
1 tsp grated ginger
Sesame oil

sauce
300cc chicken, pork or vegetable stock
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp rice wine
white pepper to taste
1 tbsp corn starch dissolved in 1 tbsp water

How to make:
1. Chop up all the veggies and meat.
2. Mix the sauce ingredients except corn starch. Set aside
3. Cook the pork in a frying pan. Add the ginger.
4. Add the veggies.
5. When the veggies are half cooked, add sauce, eggs and prawns. Cook for a few minutes
IMG_9679

IMG_9683
6. Add corn starch and cook until the sauce thickens. Done!

IMG_9684

This is how my mum used to cook. Some people like to add oyster sauce or soy sauce, but I like this simple salt and pepper flavouring.

The beauty of this dish is that you can add anything in your fridge. This time, I added a bit of corn kernels and tofu. You can cook pretty much any vegetables together. If you are vegetarian, you can use chicken style Quarn pieces or chick peas.
The dish can be enjoyed over steamed rice or egg noodles.

You can feel very healthy just by looking at it? Happy Easter.


Leave a Reply

