knits by sachi

More Christmas projects

on December 24, 2015

I love Christmas Nativity and every year, I make at least one set of Nativity dolls. I have many sets in different designs but never get tired of making a new one.

It is certainly a lovely story with many characters including animals. It is just perfect for a doll maker like me.

This year, I made two sets with felt fabric.

One is very simple. It is this one.

IMG_9621.jpg2

The figures are very simple without arms or legs and they all share the same basic template. It only took me half a day. Baby Jesus sleeps in a walnut shell comfortably.

This is very cute, and I was very pleased with it, but I just had to make a large set with all players including animals.

So, here I go.

The first part: Mary, Joseph and baby Jesus. If I can make the main characters right, I know the set will work.
Then, I added shepherds.

IMG_9568

Animals are a little more challenging because proportions do matter, but I think I did all right. I made bull and sheep lying down to create the feeling of intimacy.

IMG_9577

Now, three wise men.
They are my favorite. I get to enjoy decorating with embroideries, beads and ornaments.

IMG_9574

My camels are dressed up nicely, too.

IMG_9563

And here is the full cast.

IMG_9572.jpg2

Merry Christmas, everyone!


4 responses to “More Christmas projects

  1. Julie Hennn says:

    This is just GORGEOUS!! Your attention to detail is what makes your work so special!! You have the “magic” of bringing animals that you make to life, no matter how realistic or not they are! SUCH talent! Those camel are sublime!! Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. AnnaDecou says:

    This is so Awesome! Sweet, just amazing! 🙂 Merry Christmas! 😀

  3. This is a very quit set. Is it possible to purchase a pattern?

    • knitsbysachi says:

      It is not confirmed, but these may be made into a book. I haven’t written sewing patterns yet and I am needing someone to help me writing. I will let you know more about it.

Leave a Reply

