knits by sachi

Advent Calendar

on December 19, 2015

A couple of years ago, I knitted this calendar.

dscf5234.jpg2

It is my improvisation of Alan Dart’s calendar published by Sirdar yarn. He knitted it in Christmas red and green and added yellow ribbon in the centre of the panel. I decided to have more fun with colours and went for pastel look.
The toys in the pockets are all my original design.

I have seen lots of calendars in different styles, but I still like this simple panel with pockets.

This year, I made one with felt fabric.

IMG_9701

I could use the knitted calendar as the template for this project which made the process very easy.

I thought about making it with red and green initially. You need a large felt sold by metre, but soft natural colour is not easy to find. I could not find anything I like online, but luckily, the owner of the haberdashery in my little town helped me get this cream colour. The fabric is slightly thicker than felt squares, and that worked very well.

I chose simple font for the numbers for easy cutting and sewing.

All is done with hand-sewing. I thought I would get better control over stitches and finish would be neater that way.

And here are the toys to go in pockets.

IMG_9694

Yes, I made a lot. Well, you need at least 24 of little toys. Or 25? Do you need one for the Christmas Day?
Never mind.

IMG_9687

IMG_9688

IMG_9693

It is so enjoyable and satisfying to work on a large project like this. I enjoyed every minute of it.

I wish my boys were a little younger, but they did give me compliments

Maybe I will get to make full use of it with my grandchildren.

IMG_9698


4 responses to “Advent Calendar

  1. Cheryl says:

    Very cute! Have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. jujuhooks says:

    Absolutely beautiful, adore your work it’s gorgeous xx

Leave a Reply

