knits by sachi

Granola cookies

on December 11, 2015

IMG_9034

According to the “Love Food Hate Waste” website in UK, we throw away 7 million tonnes of food and drink from our homes every year, and more than half of this is food and drink we could have eaten.

Wasting this food costs the average household £470 a year, rising to £700 for a family with children, the equivalent of around £60 a month.

Can this be true?

I am a frugal shopper, especially when it comes to food. I was taught not to leave anything on a plate when I was growing up. Throwing away food was unthinkable.

So, no food goes to bin in our household.

It doesn’t mean all groceries are consumed quickly without any problem. Sometimes, we do struggle to do justice to food we buy, and one of these is breakfast cereals.

We have three or four opened boxes sometimes. My boys say they get bored with one flavour, or it gets “crumby” on the bottom.
I had this crumby granola which are left for weeks sitting on top of the fridge and decided to be a little creative.

I decided to make cookies with it.

I got the basic idea from oatmeal cookies and altered its recipe. Granola contains sugar already so that I reduced the amount of sugar considerably.

Recipe; this is what I used.

1 cup chocolate chip granola, crumbs and everything in the box. Crush large pieces over the plastic bag.
1 cup flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
90ml butter, softened. I know it is rather odd to measure butter in ml. I used US measuring cup. 1/4 cup and a half and I think it is about 50 g.
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
a few drops of vanilla extract
sprinkle of cinnamon

(makes about 20)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 C, 350 F. (gas mark 4-5).

2. Fluff butter with electric beater for 30 sec- 1 min. Add sugar and cream the butter. Add egg and beat a little more until well mixed.

3. Add brown sugar, flour, baking powder, a few drops of vanilla and sprinkle cinnamon. Mix to combine using a spatula.

4. Drop a small ball of the dough with a spoon, 3cm apart, and bake in the oven for 10-12 mins.

You know what? These cookies turned out to be one of the best I made, and my family absolutely loved them! They all went in two days. I was very pleased because this is my original recipe!

IMG_9638

IMG_9640

Holidays are coming and we tend to overstock food. When you have left-overs or unpopular items in your kitchen, take a challenge and be creative. You never know, you may come up with a fantastic recipe of your own.


Leave a Reply

