knits by sachi

Birthday cake idea

on October 7, 2015

My handmade birthday party with felt fabric

IMG_9316.jpg3

My older son just turned 18 this Monday. I can hardly believe it. Suddenly I feel very old.

But every day is a gift. I am very happy to see him becoming a confident young man.

Upon his request, I baked a Castella cake which I am going to share the recipe here soon. It is a traditional Japanese sponge cake originated in Spain.

We do not decorate Castella and enjoy the texture and the flavour of its own. Since the cake was rather plain looking, I decided to do another cake; a Sushi cake!

I cooked 600 cc of Sushi rice and used about 1/3 of it to make the cake. I rolled with fillings the rest.

To make Sushi rice, you need,

Serves 4

600 cc uncooked short grain sushi rice, cooked according to the package instructions
4 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
3 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt

You can mix the vinegar, sugar and salt and set it aside for a while or, heat very gently to dissolve sugar and salt. Do not boil it. Add the mixture over cooked rice while the rice is still very hot.

You can also get sushi vinegar mix in a bottle at supermarkets.

The idea of the Sushi cake is simple. Line a cake tin with cling film and layer rice and filling of your choice.

This time, I made fine scrambled eggs, place that in the bottom, add the first layer of rice, placed tuna mayonnaise salad and topped it with another layer of rice. Press firmly and leave it for 30 mins or so. Flip the cake over carefully.

I placed mini sushi rolls all around. I also made roses with strips of smoked salmon and placed them on top. You can decorate it however you like. Cherry tomatoes, steamed mangetout or sugar snaps, cooked carrot slices… you can be creative.

I think this is a great idea if you are trying to avoid sweets. You still get to celebrate a birthday with a cake.

And voila, my Sushi birthday cake!

IMG_9330

Oh, you can enjoy a felt cake, too.

IMG_9306


Leave a Reply

