knits by sachi

Macaroons!

on September 4, 2015

IMG_8901
I am loving the BBC’s “Great British Bake Off”.

It is such a fantastic program. I enjoy watching it every year and I know I am not the only one.

I guess we like seeing baking disasters as much as great achievements. I am not being mean. We all like to know things go wrong for not only you but for everyone.

So, what is your baking disaster?

Mine is Macaroons. A few years ago, I had a go at Macaroons first time in my life. Macaroons are so pretty and I had always wanted to try.

I had my mixture perfect. I had two colours, pink and cocoa brown. My younger son, still in primary school then, helped me draw circles on baking sheets. I followed carefully every step in the recipe and voila, my Macaroons looked textbook perfect when they came out of the oven.

But you know what? They were stuck to the paper.
Apparently, I had used wrong kind of paper to line the baking tray. I was shattered. My son cried.

I haven’t tried Macaroons ever since. It became my trauma and they make me nervous.

But recently, I decided to knit them. Knitting Macaroons is so much easier than baking them!
IMG_9009

And here is the recipe.

Size: 4cm diameter
Materials
• Small amounts of DK colour of your choice
• Small amount of white DK
• stuffing

Abbreviations
St/st: stocking stitch
St: stitch
K: knit
P: purl
Kf/b: k one through the front then through the back (same stitch)
K2tog: knit two together
P2tog: purl two together
Skpo: slip1, knit1, pass slipped stitch over

Top and bottom piece: make one each
With the colour of your choice DK, cast on 10 sts loosely.
Row1: (kf/b) to end (20)
Row2: p
Row3: (k1, kf/b) to end (30)
Rows4-10: st/st
Row11: (k1, k2tog) to end (20)
Row12: p
Row13: (k2tog) to end (10)
Break yarn, draw through sts, pull tightly and fasten off.

With fasten-off yarn end, sew the seam. Stuff lightly. Work a gathering thread along the cast-on edge and pull tightly.

Centre cream
Worked with two strands of DK together, alternatively, use Aran or chunky yarn
With two strands of white DK together, cast on 8 sts.
Row1: (kf/b) to end (16)
Row2: p
Row3: (k1, kf/b) to end (24)
Cast off.

To make up
Attach all three pieces together with the cream piece in the centre. Secure with a few stitches.

So, what do you think? They can be pin cushions, too.

IMG_9004


4 responses to “Macaroons!

  1. chrissieknits says:

    Your knitted macaroons are totally cute, as ever, and good enough to eat!

  2. aromadry says:

    Wanderfull, thanks.

  3. So divine, I could just eat them up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

