knits by sachi

Off to Kenya!

on July 26, 2015

IMG_8518
Mr. President Obama is in Kenya this weekend. My son is going there today as well to take part in World Challenge youth program. He will be travelling Kenya and Tanzania next 4 weeks.

When he signed up three years ago, it seemed that the trip seemed so far away. I cannot believe the trip is actually happening now. It still feels surreal to me.

He is going with 17 other students and three teachers from the school. They are accompanied by a tour organizer and also meeting up a local guide over there. Let’s hope he will turn up at the airport.

The group is going to be involved in volunteer projects, and one of them is to help building a school in a remote area in Kenya. They are also bringing some gifts and my son has bought 150 pencils.

There will be some trekking excursions. They will be walking 7 hours a day for 5 days with all that heavy loads packed in 65 litre bag. For me, it is strange some people actually like doing that kind of thing.

I think they are sleeping under the stars some nights. I wonder if you get to see the Milky Way there.

IMG_8525

IMG_8522

I heard they would be taking a local bus for 8 hours from Kenya to Tanzania.

Sounds like a lot of fun….

It will be literally ‘No new is good news’. We will not hear from them unless something really bad happens.
No internet or mobile phones. We just have to prey to God to send them back safely.

I must be mad to agree with this whole thing, but if this is what he wants I guess I just have to let him go. He needs to live his life the way he wishes.

As a Japanese proverb, ‘If you love your child, send him out into the world’, yes?

I know he will have fantastic experiences and learn so much things that he would never be able to learn in a class room.
And they do get to spend time at the beach. They are also visiting a safari.

He wanted me to buy him a mole skin sketch notebook. I am looking forward to seeing what he would draw in it.

IMG_8756

He got this fortune last month! How timely is that?
IMG_8763


9 responses to “Off to Kenya!

  1. Julie Henn says:

    Good luck to your son, I’m sure he’ll have an amazing adventure and enjoy Africa’s welcome. 4 weeks is a long time for a mom, but you’ll endure, and he’ll come back enriched. God bless!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! I think it is actually all right not hearing from him during the trip.I don’t have to be anxious and wait for his calls all the time. I feel a pain when I look at his empty room, but I will get to use to it. He will be off to university next summer, and this will be my practice being away from him.

  2. Pam says:

    He will have an amazing time. My daughter did this trip 2 years ago and still talks about it now as the best thing she has done. He will be home before you know it with clothes and shoes that need to go straight in the bin and lots of stories!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you. You made me feel much better! Straight to bin? I was thinking washing machine… I will be looking forward hearing lots of interesting stories from him certainly.

  3. Cheryl says:

    What a awesome experience! Great job knitting the African camping scene.

  4. Good luck to your son, I’m sure he will have an amazing time. I have found that letting go is a process – just when you think you have got the hang of it, something comes along to make you realise those apron strings are tied on for life. But it is also lovely to see them grow into men that you can be proud of. Take care of yourself, a little sadness is OK and healthy – there’s lots of joy to come.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you very very much for your kind words! I miss him terribly but I want him to live the life he wants. I spend a lot of time with him, and he has also supported me emotionally through difficult times. I was thinking of visiting you next month and luckily I got photo shoots! It would be nice to see your friendly face.

  5. Pam says:

    There was a lot of red mud which couldn’t be washed out however hard I tried! I did manage to salvage some stuff though.

Leave a Reply

