knits by sachi

Happy 4th of July!

on July 4, 2015

IMG_8573

I lived in the States for a year when I was in high school.

As an exchange student, it was compulsory to study the American History. I enjoyed the class very much, but I found it a little odd that a country has a history of only 200 years. Japan has over 2000 year history and we spend hours learning and memorizing all the shogun and samurai names in school. America is certainly a very young country.

A young country with new ideas, freedom and full of opportunities.

I returned to the States after graduating a university in Tokyo. By day, I went to school and by night, I waitressed and I ended up in Wall street. You can achieve that in America.

The Fourth of July is a big event in the States. Fireworks, parades, barbecues, carnivals, fairs, picnics, concerts, baseball games! I think it is very nice to celebrate the birth of your own country like this.

There is a day called ‘ National Foundation Day’ in Japan and is a national holiday, but I don’t think we celebrate it much.

For my monthly seasons and occasions project, I have chosen Independence Day for July.

I have children, a boy and a girl.

IMG_8569

a dog and a baby
IMG_7456

and Uncle Sam
IMG_7454

All wearing red, white and blue.

I never really gave a thought about the colours, but it seems they do have meanings. According to the House of Representative in 1977,

White signifies purity and innocence
Red, hardiness and valour,
Blue signifies vigilance, perseverance and justice

IMG_8568

I have visited Washington DC once. I heard that the flags are changed every day at the White House and you can purchase the flag. I have a very lucky friend who came home with the flag.

Also, I heard that anyone can purchase a U.S. Flag that has flown over the United States Capitol building.

There is such a strong sentiment to the national flag in America. And of course, it is very cool. I would love the flag flown over the White House, too.

A very Happy 4th of July!


3 responses to “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Cheryl says:

    These 4th of July people are soooo… cute! Cheryl

  2. Kathleen Brulc says:

    Thank you for your lovely words about the USA. And thank you for your beautiful and creative knits. Photos of your work make me smile every time I see them. Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

