knits by sachi

Knitted carousel

on June 26, 2015

Ta-dah!
IMG_8320

I came across this lovely painting done by the author of children’ book, ‘Gasperd and Lisa’.

download (4)

I believe there is a carousel near the Eiffel Tower. He has added his personal touch and the painting is so beautiful. This is one of my favorite of his work.

And here is Gasperd and Lisa.

20101115_742085

You don’t usually see giraffe and elephant on a carousel, but don’t they look sweet? This is what is great about art. You are allowed to paint anything.
I fell in love this picture and I started toying the idea of creating a knitted carousel.

It seemed to be a little daunting project, but I drew the basic design and gave a good thought on how to build it. The important issue was the size. I did not want to make it too big or small.

I did not try to be too clever and make the carousel actually work. That would be too ambitious.

So, this is just an ornament, a cute ornament.

First, I made horses. I made four. And knitted the base circle stage big enough for them.

IMG_8333

IMG_8332

I inserted circle cardboard panels to keep its shape. It is stuffed with toy stuffing and in the centre, it has a polyethylene block to support the pole.

The awning is knitted in the similar way as the base stage. It just has a round top. I added a little bobbles on the edge.

IMG_8334

And of course, I need little children to ride the horses.

IMG_8328

IMG_8331

IMG_8322

IMG_8325

Although the horses do not go up and down, you can turn the carousel if you place it on a flat slippery surface.

I used to love carousels as a child. I liked to sit on a horse sideways, feet dangling off from one side so that I would feel like a princess.
I would love to visit the carousel in Paris at night like in the painting of Gasperd. This is in my must-do-once-in-a-lifetime list.


9 responses to “Knitted carousel

  1. Julie Henn says:

    You are SO clever and talented, but it’s more than that – your translation of what inspires you, and your own memories and imaginative flair come through in all the pieces that you create; THAT’S what makes your designs so unique. Your blog always tells a story to us – and then YOU KNIT IT!!! AMAZING talent!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment. Yes, everything around me inspires me! Life is full of fun. I am very very fortunate that I can spend time creating things I want. You will see elephant and giraffe in my other projects soon.

  2. Amazing! I love alll of your work!
    Erin x

  3. nommymono says:

    This is so amazing and wonderful! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love carousels too with their bright colours and beautiful horses (and maybe other animals) and I really love how you can just gather inspiration from things around you and put it into knitted form. ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t wait to see the giraffe and elephant! ^^ also, I wonder if I will be able to find the book in one of my local libraries… the picture looks adorable.

  4. Chiwaluv says:

    This is incredibly adorable , would love a pattern , so I could make one!

  5. zora says:

    Hi it’s beautiful ๐Ÿ˜ can we have the pattern please please please ๐Ÿ˜‡

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you so much for your comment.
      I would like to publish it somehow someday, but this is a large project, and something like this requires a pattern checker. I need to photograph and explain the assembly steps, too.
      If you have a strong request, please contact my publisher, Search Press UK through their website. They may be able to help us.
      Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

