knits by sachi

BBQ idea

on June 19, 2015

IMG_8490

May be because they have spent their early childhood in Japan, my boys have developed absolute love for soy sauce. I am sure they can survive anywhere in the world if they had soy sauce.

I wonder when we develop taste buds.
During my pregnancy, I was advised not to take too much dairy food when I reached to ninth month since babies like lactose and tend to grow big and heavy quickly, making the delivery tougher for the mother.

My older son was born in Chislehurst, Kent. When he started eating baby food, our health visitor came to our house for consultations on baby food. She opened all kitchen cabinets and told me to get rid of sweet baby foods, including the ones flavoured with fruits. I thought she was being a bit nosy then, but I am glad that she gave me that advice. My children prefer savory, and never too interested in sugary foods.

So, back to soy sauce.
It is very handy and versatile. You can enjoy as a dipping sauce or in cooking. In summer, we use it for BBQ. Our favorite is ‘Yaki-morokoshi’ or grilled corn.

download (1)

It is the sweetcorn usually flavoured with soy sauce and sometimes butter. The flavour is so distinct that you can find potato crisps, pretzels, even Kit Kats with yaki-morokoshi flavour.
No, I have never had this sweetcorn Kit kat. I have to try it some day.

images (9)

Yaki-morokoshi got that addictive combination of saltiness and sweetness. At summertime festivals, you can find stalls selling them.

images (8)

You can easily make these at home. Just boil the corn for 5 mins and BBQ over the grill. I would roast it without flavouring first. When the corn is browned a little on the outside, brush with soy sauce.

You can add butter and/or Mirin sweet wine to soy sauce if you would like.

There are some different makes of soy sauce. We prefer Japanese brand as ‘Kikkoman’.

If you want to go gluten free, choose Tamari sauce. Tamari is a little darker and stronger in flavour, but quite similar to soy sauce.

Regular soy sauce is made by cooking soybeans with roasted wheat and other grains and adding it to a salty brine to brew, then sit for a period of time to ferment. This mixture is then pressed to extract the dark, brown liquid.

Tamari on the other hand, is made a bit different. It is known to be the liquid byproduct that forms when making miso paste . When the soybeans are cooked down to ferment, no wheat is added to the mixture, which makes it a great alternative for those that have gluten intolerance.

Boys like burgers and sausages, but they also enjoy grilled vegetables when we BBQ in the garden. Soy sauce goes very well with any vegetables.

IMG_8493

I knitted the corn in the photo some years ago. I could not find the pattern anywhere in my files, so I tried to make one again. The corn kernels are made with bobbles on knit rows. The finished piece naturally curl and has the shape of corn without any further effort, but the problem is, it is a very tight knit. And you cannot use bigger needles because if you do, kernels lose the shape somewhat. My hands ached for a few days afterwards. I guess the pattern needs to be kept unpublished or I need to come up with a better pattern. Shame.

Nice and warm weekend is arriving to England. Let’s enjoy BBQ!


2 responses to “BBQ idea

  1. Julie Henn says:

    Mmmmm! I’m definitely going to try this on the BBQ – thanks for the tip! As for the pattern for your knitted corn, don’t worry about it, it’s just a joy to see your creations – there is something about knitted food that really appeals to me and your are the best I’ve seen!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      The smell of the soy sauce sizzling is amazing. You can try with a bit of butter, too. I recommend to get Japanese brand. I found some of the Chinese ones are too dark. I am pleased with the way the knitted corn looks, too.

Leave a Reply

