knits by sachi

Animal brass band

on June 12, 2015

I am not a collector, but I do love cute little characters of cartoons and animations.

I had the Hello Kitty phase when I was very young, and Snoopy!. I still love Snoopy.

But my absolute love for many years is these guys: Gasperd and Lisa.
images (5)

They are the characters of the children’s book written by Ann Gutman and illustrated by Georg Hallensleben . It is originally published in France and is translated in many other languages. Lisa is the white one and Gasperd is the black one. I don’t know if they are dogs or bunnies, the author doesn’t say, but it hardly matters because they are so cute.

There is another series called Penelope. She is a koala.
090602pene_second

And here are her friends.

friends

Ever since I saw this elephant, I wanted to create an animal marching band.
As the first project, I tried this; an elephant with a drum of course.
IMG_8337
I gave him a full costume.

Then, I started adding more members.
The next one is a hippo. I worked from large animals to smaller ones. I also have a bear which you will see in a group photo.

IMG_8350

IMG_8348

I have a little mouse. He is one of my favorite.

IMG_8248

I have also added human figures. I made them quite small. They are smaller than the dog or the cat and wearing the same costume. In my little fantasy world, humans do not dominate animals. We live in harmony side by side.

IMG_8341.jpg2

And here is the full cast.
IMG_8346.jpg2

This project was so fun!
Can you here their music?
IMG_8345

When I was in primary school, I joined a band. I still remember the excitement when I wore the uniform for a parade. I feel very fortunate to have sweet childhood memories.


8 responses to “Animal brass band

  1. Julie Henn says:

    This band is WONDERFUL! How lovely to have such memories to draw on for inspiration and how generous of you to share them with us created in wool!

  2. Living in harmony, side-by-side, with animals, sounds like a fun idea! 🙂 Also, these knits are freaking awesome! 😀

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! I guess I have the Buddhist’s belief in me a little. Buddhist believe that you may come back in another form in next life. You could be an insect, an animal, a fish or a human. The butterfly in the garden may be your grand dad. I like the idea.

  3. snowsonguk says:

    Wonderful, magical 🙂 Will you be publishing the patterns for them? pleeeeeeeeeeeeease? 😀

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I would love to, but since I will be needing to hire a tech editor for a project like this, I will seek an opportunity to publish it on a magazine or a book. You can make a request to Search press or other book publisher and that will help both of us. Hiring a pattern checker on my own is very expensive and I hope you will understand.
      Thank you for your very kind comment!

  4. Cherry says:

    hello from manila! i’m at your blog by way of your comment in a blog about buckwheat muffins. i’m a knitter/crocheter myself, though just a casual one, and i just had to say: your knits are awesome and super cute and creative!!! i have a stash of yarn that i need to decongest (every crafter’s impossible dream!) and your work is inspiring me to look for my own “voice”. i hope i find my own style too someday… 🙂

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Oh, thank you so much for your kind comment! It is wonderful that you are involved in craft. If you try to make something with your own designs, your style eventually comes up, I think.

Leave a Reply

