knits by sachi

Summer knits

on May 29, 2015

Here is the latest Knit Now magazine.

IMG_8401

It has lots of great ideas for summer.

We are lucky to have the cool and dry weather in summer here in the UK. In Japan, it gets so hot and humid. I wouldn’t fancy knitting at all unless I have my air conditioners running full blast.

My mother used to crochet lace when it was hot. I remember her making a large table cloth and even a cover for my up-right piano.

This issue has lacy knitting patterns. I am not too good at knitting soft and delicate garments, but these are tempting.

IMG_8404

IMG_8402

I tried a little summery knit, too; a flower girl with a sun hat.

IMG_8406

I used cotton yarn for the head and limbs.

I rarely use cotton yarn for my knitting. I find most cotton DK (8-ply) yarn are thicker than wool and a little hard to make toys with, but I had this rosy pale pink cotton yarn that I have had quite some time and decided to have a go. It may be a good material for summer.

Screenshot 2015-05-11 13.07.35

This Knit Now issue comes with a toy knits booklet and I found my patterns in it. It was such a pleasant surprise for me. I didn’t know about it until yesterday.

The articles are extracts from my two books, Mini knitted safari and Mini knitted woodland.

Here is the lions.

IMG_8410

and badgers.

IMG_8408

Talking about badgers, I found this tiny badger the other day.

IMG_8426

My friend needle felted it. It isn’t possible to make it any more smaller!
She gave it to me for a Christmas many years ago. Handmade gifts stay with you forever.

IMG_8427


5 responses to “Summer knits

  1. Adriana says:

    Wonderfull, felicitaciones!!!

  2. alexis says:

    Your knits are so fun and whimsical. What a special bridal party!!! I loved learning a bit about weddings in Japan too.

  3. Sandra says:

    Great to find your blog post. I too have one of my patterns published in this issue of Knit Now , the lace “mustardseed” shawl you mentioned. It’s the 1st time I’ve had a pattern published in a mag , so a little excited.

Leave a Reply

