knits by sachi

My knitted florist

on May 16, 2015

Lovely by my window.

IMG_6804

1. Chef
2. Nurse
3. Doctor
4. Kindergarten teacher / child minder
5. Florist

These are the top 5 of the dream jobs for young girls in Japan.

I am pleased to see florist in the list. That was one of my favorite when I was little.

Girls love flowers. It must be wonderful to be surrounded with flowers every day at work. And whey you deliver flowers, everyone is happy to see you and you are greeted with smile. How wonderful!

So, I knitted a mini flower shop.

img_6807.jpg2

I love receiving flowers of course, but I also love sending them to someone.

I send flowers to my mum through a international flower delivery service sometimes. It really excites me just to think about my mum receiving flowers at her door.

In this knitted florist set, I have an adult shop owner and a child.

IMG_6814

IMG_6810

The adult is about 9cm, and the child is 7cm.

And I have a flower wagon. I think it looks sweet on its own.

IMG_6811

The wagon has a light weight cardboard inside to keep its shape. The top awning is just sitting on the four poles and not attached to the wagon.
For the flowers, I just cast on a few stitches on a knitting needle and draw through the stitches to fasten off. For the stems, I used the paper flower making material called ” flower peps”. They are fine paper stems with a bobble on each end. I also used “floral tape”. It is a very handy material. You stretch the tape to make it sticky and wrap a stem with it.

IMG_6813

I made pots and baskets, too.

IMG_6812

I would very much like to send flowers to my mum on her birthday, but it is in July and a bit too warm in Japan. A nicely arranged bouquet is kept in a fridge until it is to be delivered and once it is out of the fridge, the flowers start to age so quickly. Flowers do not last very long.

But I may send her the entire florist this year, my mini flower shop for her birthday.


10 responses to “My knitted florist

  1. gagan1700 says:

    Stunning!💕🍧

  2. I’m a boy, but I really like flowers, too! I like helping them grow and seeing them bloom! I remember the flowers in the orchids that my mother put and grew around our family’s house…and seeing them bloom feels really refreshing, especially when I’ve done something significant to help them grow! ^_^

    • knitsbysachi says:

      How lovely! Flowers bring you lots of memories, don’t they? My mum absolutely loves flowers. I remember she used to grow freesia in our tiny garden and I often took them to school. Nice memories.

  3. aromadry says:

    Actually, I’m fascinated by your work, every time I turn on the computer, I look if you published something, because I really like your dolls. Sometimes when I’m sad, I look at your toys and I get happy. Thank you very much

  4. Wow – Absolutely stunning. Amazing detail – love it!!

  5. Geraldine says:

    how adorable! 🙂

  6. Amazing amount of detail – simple gorgeous! I wish I had your skill.

Leave a Reply

