knits by sachi

New project

on May 9, 2015

I have done a variety of craft from paper craft to dress making. I own a drum carder and spinning wheel. I dye wool and wet and dry felt. List is endless, and I have enough material to offer workshops anytime on these craft I do.

But I have had promised myself that I would not get into sugar craft, beading or doll houses.

Not because I am not interested, it is quite the opposite. I know I will be hooked on them and start collecting equipment and materials in no time.

But I saw this pre-loved doll house in a charity shop a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_8244
It is a large house, about 1m (w)x 1m (h) x 50cm (d). and I fell in love with it.

It has the Tudor like appearance on the outside, a simple and nice design. Some of the metal window frames are falling off and they definitely need repairing.

IMG_8232

IMG_8239

Interior had a bit more problems. Walls have been pasted with wall papers originally, but have been painted over and have many air bubbles. But the fantastic thing is the house is furnished.

IMG_8234

IMG_8235

IMG_8236

Since I couldn’t carry it home right away, I reserved it and promised the shop keeper that I would come back the next day. I had 24 hours to think about it.

I made a quick research on internet as anyone would do in a situation like this. What type of doll house is this? Is it sold anywhere else? Am I getting value for money? and how can I redecorate the house?

And I found that the house was 100% handmade, and you cannot find the same one in anywhere else. It is not the IKEA-assembling-handmade from-a-kit, either.

And I thought that I have to get it. I like the fact that the house was built by someone for his/her loved one. It has been loved and enjoyed by children, and it is my mission to repair the house! I took a plunge.

My son helped me carry it from my car boot the next day. If he thought I was insane, he hid it rather well.

So, here is my new project, a new adventure. A big job of re-doing the house has commenced.

I am stripping the walls. It is inhabitable now, but I will get there.

IMG_8261


5 responses to “New project

  1. Gina Ash says:

    Good Luck, it is beautiful and original

  2. Cheryl says:

    You Go Girl ! Sounds like a lot of fun. Cheryl

  3. Pam says:

    I will look forward to seeing how you progress with your house. I have my old Triang dolls house up in my room. I couldn’t bear to get rid of it!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I would love to see yours. I got this reference book of V & A and learning a little about the history of dolls’ house, too. I am doing all the soft furnishing with, you know what, knitting!

Leave a Reply

