knits by sachi

The family of fourteen

on January 31, 2015

nvCMS_nvsp_id0000077_154_205048

I love sitting in the children book section of a library. It is full of fantastic ideas and inspirations.

If you are involved in craft, stitching, card making or cake decorating, it is a good idea to spend some time looking through picture books.

Many years ago, my sister introduced me to this series of books called ‘The family of fourteen’ written and illustrated by a Japanese author, Kazuo Iwamura.

It is originally published in Japanese and my children grew up with his books.

IMG_7588.jpg2

I recently found that the books are also published in English. How nice!

9784494041909

They are amazing books and have been our favorite. I do not know how many times I read them with my boys.

You will instantly notice the quality of his art work. Each picture is painted with lots of care and details and the colours are utterly beautiful.
9784494007844

I just love these Fourteen Forest Mice.

IMG_7591

The stories are gentle and sweet. They are snapshots of everyday life of a loving family of three generations; Grandma and Grandpa, Mum and Dad, and their 10 children.

There are not too exciting events in the stories, but that is what I love about the books. Children find comfort and want to hear them again and again.

Stories are related seasons in the forest. Here are some more amazing pictures from the books.
IMG_7590IMG_7597IMG_7594
IMG_7593

These books make me want to create my own children book. I would like to make gnomes and fairies and create my own fantasy story with my knitting.

It is still just a thought, but a very exciting thought.


9 responses to “The family of fourteen

  1. carol says:

    Thank you for sharing this looks like a wonderful book! I love finding things I can read with my granddaughter.

  2. aromadry says:

    Si, me parece una idea fantástica, yo también tengo dos historias de hadas, con el patrón de las muñecas, las tengo en un cajón, pero vos que tenes un editor que produce tus libros, me parece que no será complicado hacerlo. Exitos!!!!

  3. aromadry says:

    Es más, hasta cuando leí el título, e iba leyendo, me imaginé que al final, iba a encontrar a tus muñequitos tejidos formando una escena de ese libro.

  4. The family in that story looks like a pretty happy and tight-knit family, and I really like such families! Oh, and I’m really interested in making stories for children, too! I wanna teach children well and make them happy through the stories that I’ll make for them! ^_^

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I would love to read your story. Children grow up too quickly these days and I think they need to enjoy being children. Books are far better than TV. I think I really want to write some stories…

  5. Lisa says:

    I love the series a lot… I read it when i was a small girl and it stick in my mind because its very detail on every aspects. I wish i could read it to my daughter but since i borrowed the book i must return it… now its very very hard to find the book…

Leave a Reply

