knits by sachi

Teddy Bear’s picnic

on January 10, 2015

With all the excitement of Christmas and New Years, I almost forgotten that my teddies would be in this month’s issue of Knit Now magazine.

I just picked up a copy. This time, my pattern is in an individual booklet! How cool!

img_7448.jpg2

Back in October, I received a request to make a teddies’ picnic set. The editor wanted a complete set with blanket and a basket. What a lovely idea!

I made the teddies and dressed them in my favorite Rowan Tweed yarn. I prefer a little finer yarn than DK to knit outfits to avoid them get too thick and stiff. The bears do not have gussets and are very easy to make. You know I dislike sewing up gussets.

The editor also wanted something British. I included the England flag.

If you live in another country and want to use your country’s flag, it can be done by changing the motif.
I once knitted a bear with a jumper with the Columbian flag. She absolutely loved it.

I was’t too sure what yarn to use for the blanket. I ended up with Rowan Cotton Tweed. I bought this yarn years ago, but since the yarn is Aran weight, I couldn’t find a suitable project for a while.
I originally used this yarn to crochet the flower scarf. Once in a blue moon, I do have a go at making something like this.
dscf4334.jpg2

This yarn turn out to be perfect for the picnic blanket. It gives thickness and softness, and the knitting does not curl at the edges.

And I think my teddies are pleased with it.
img_6341.jpg2


2 responses to “Teddy Bear’s picnic

  1. Ahh, how cute! I especially love the basket, with all the different things inside it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

