knits by sachi

Knitting Chinese Zodiac animals

on January 5, 2015

I have posted the photos of my sheep I made for 2015, the year of sheep.

Here, I have a lamb in another style.

img_5820.jpg2

There are 12 animals signs in Chinese Zodiac. Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and wild boar.

This horoscope originates in China, but it is also very popular in Japan.
Do you know your animal sign? You can find it easily here:http://www.ofesite.com/spirit/chinese/animal2.htm

Even if you do not quite remember your parents’ ages, (sorry Mum, Dad), you would never forget their Chinese animal signs.

My dad’s sign is the rabbit and so is my younger son’s. They are five cycles apart. My mum’s is the snake as my husband’s and they are three cycles apart.

Some of the animals in the calendar may not be very favoured in the Western countries, but these are all considered to be lucky animals in the East. In fact, no animal is particularly disliked in Asian culture.

I enjoyed this project; knitting all the Zodiac animals.

I have rabbit, mouse and wild boar. These are the ones I started with. They all have the same basic body pattern.

img_5817.jpg2

And I challenged a little; the tiger and the dragon. They are popular animals because of their dynamic, strong characters. Mine stay round and cute, but never mind.

IMG_1024

Here is the all cast.
IMG_0721

It was certainly a very fun project.

On the New Year’s day, I saw this photo on Facebook. These are postage stamps published in Japan. After 12 years, she finally finished her scarf.

10253875_369387376569138_4824784688772284391_n


5 responses to “Knitting Chinese Zodiac animals

  1. hehe, love those stamps! And the tiger looks incredibly fierce, I love his stripes 🙂

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I decided to embroider the stripes. It is much much easier than knitting with two colours! Yes, aren’t these stamps cute? The Japanese postal service has their own art team. I think they did a very good job.

  2. aromadry says:

    Me muerooooo!!!!!!!!! como me gustan tus animalitos!!!!! felicitaciones. Están hermosos!!!!! Feliz Año 2015, besitos

Leave a Reply

