knits by sachi

Year of sheep

on January 1, 2015

49c3eeda

2015 is the year of sheep according to Chinese Zodiac.

In Japan, when the current year matches up with the same Chinese Zodiac sign you were born under, as a female you get the title “toshi onnna”, literally meaning ‘year’s lady’.

it’s my year. I am going to be the “Year’s lady”. I am feeling lucky already.

The Sheep (Goat) is a Yin energy, a symbol of Peace, Harmonious co-existence and Tranquility. It is also the symbol of the Arts. Perfect!

Some say it is a good time to be ambitious and start something new when your Zodiac sign comes up. I haven’t made New Year’s resolution as such, but I should give a good thought on what I would like to achieve in next 12 year cycle.

For now, I am just innocently celebrating the New Year.

I asked my mum to send me something related to sheep. You get to see a lot of items with sheep motif in shops in Japan now.

She sent me these.
IMG_7338

and this.

img_7339.jpg2

It is a coin case.

You see, she didn’t go expensive or posh. I think she thinks I am still a little girl.
But they are lovely.

I just made a set of sheep, too. And this time, I managed to write up the pattern and publish it online!

img_7350.jpg2img_7351.jpg2

My mummy sheep and baby lamb.
https://www.etsy.com/listing/216522036/mummy-sheep-and-baby-lamb-knitting?

The mummy sheep is about 7cm long, 6cm high, and the baby is 5cm long and 5cm high. It is very very simply knitting of garter stitches, knit and purl and i-cord.

Happy New Year! I hope this year will bring you a lot of happiness.


8 responses to “Year of sheep

  1. I love those knitted sheep- so cute! And have fun being the lady of the year this year!

  2. carol says:

    Your mother chose very well those are wonderful gifts!! What a great time for you this year will be. I love your designs and please keep surprising us with wonderful knitted items!!! Happy New Year!

  3. aromadry says:

    Happy New Year to you too, baby lamb is adorable, the world needs a better and wonderful 2015. Amen,
    Adriana

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Oh, it is so true. There have been many tragedies until the very end of the year in the past year. It is a gift to be able to live without illness. Happy New Year to you, too, Adriana.

Leave a Reply

