knits by sachi

My handmade Christmas tree

on December 16, 2014

Come December, I am busy knitting Christmassy items.

I usually do not mind knitting things out of season. My knits are all small, and I can enjoy knitting Easter bunnies or Halloween monsters in summer. I just made summery nautilus items for Knit Now magazine coming up issues. But there is something about Christmas. I cannot get into the spirit until December.

This year, I made lots of human figures. I think I have finally succeeded designing knitted dolls I am happy with. I do like Waldorf inspired simple style, but it has done by many. My knitted figures I created this year have more distinctive features and easily recognizable as mine. I always wanted to create something unique.

I have posted this photo last time; Girls with Christmas tree. I have used Rowan Fine Tweed, my favorite yarn.
IMG_7166.jpg2
With Rowan, you cannot go wrong.

Then, I made a bigger tree with children decorating it.

img_7169.jpg2.jpg3

I have three children, big sister, little sister and a baby boy.
img_7171.jpg2

I also have a dog. You have to have an animal or two to go with a fun scene. I thought dogs are more keen on celebrating than cats but I may be wrong.

img_7173.jpg2

The tree has a knitted trunk in the middle. I just wind yarn around a card and sew one end, cut the other end and released the card. Then, I attached the yarn tuft to the trunk. I started from the base and moved on the top, using less yarn. The decorations are secured with one or two stitches because they kept falling off the tree.

You can enjoy this tree if you can spare a little corner. Isn’t this lovely?


11 responses to “My handmade Christmas tree

  1. Gorgeous .. I adore your Christmas tree!

  2. crystalgmartin says:

    Oh my gosh, that is one of the cutest things I have ever seen! I love the children decorating the tree, little sister and baby boy remind me of my two little sweeties. You are very talented!

  3. I love your human figures. I love their uniqueness and am looking forward to the time when you share the patterns with the rest of us.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you. I am thinking of how I do this. I will consult the publisher as well. It is more of a doll making rather than knitting. It isn’t too difficult, but I think I should explain step-by-step.

  4. aromadry says:

    Me encantó tu árbol, como lo decoraste, la estrella está hermosa, gracias por tanta dulzura, y Feliz Navidad!!!! Un beso de Adriana.

  5. Very very cute, especially the little people.

Leave a Reply

