knits by sachi

Lovely and girly

on December 9, 2014

download (17)
It was my favorite story as a young girl, Anne of Green Gables.

I didn’t like Anne’s personality at first. She is too talkative and uses big words too much which I found a bit annoying, but gradually, she grew on me. She is very interesting and charming.

But what I loved about the story was her life and everything girly in it; baking biscuits and cakes for tea, stroll in the woods looking for berries, yearning for a dress with big balloon sleeves.

And having a best friend and a boy who teases you.

I grew up in Japan, and my life was very different from hers, but I felt very close to her. I had a very close friend and a boy who liked teasing me.

In one of the chapters, Anne accidentally got Diana drunk off of red current wine. Anne thought that the wine was raspberry cordial, a drink suitable to teenagers.
It is funny that I had a similar episode. I was invited to my friend’s house and she gave me Japanese plums which had been used to make plum wine. Japanese plum wine, called Umeshu is often made at home. It is a liqueur made from steeping ume fruits (while still unripe and green) in strong alcohol and sugar. You get alcohol soaked plums which are delightful to eat if you make Umeshu at home.

The plums were sweet and so yummy and I had a whole lot with my friend. It must be a shock to her mum when she found us in her kitchen, all drunk and giggling.

I always wanted to create dolls inspired by Anne story.
IMG_7106

Anne is often depicted in a little dull coloured clothes, but I dressed her in fresh green and white.

The bike has two knitted wheels with light weight cardboard inside. They are connected with garden wire.
IMG_7101

And Diana. I liked her personality in the story very much. I tried to make Diana’s sleeves a little bigger which were then ‘ in style’.
IMG_7092

Picked up from the young readers’ section at the library, I read the book again recently. At one point, I realized that I was reading it from the foster parent’s point of view. How interesting.

I think I want to create more scenes from the lovely story.


7 responses to “Lovely and girly

  1. How sweet! There are lots of scenes from books I was create as well (although probably in cross stitch rather than knitting!) Now to find the time somehow!

  2. Amy says:

    I love these! Anne of Green Gables was a favorite of mine too!

  3. Oh, how lovely. I love Anne of Green Gables too. I am a Canadian girl who lives on the an Island but on the opposite side of PEI.

  4. aromadry says:

    Fabulosas!!! te quedaron divinas!!!

Leave a Reply

