knits by sachi

Happy Thanksgiving

on November 27, 2014

IMG_6206

Thanksgiving was one of my favorite celebration when I lived in America.
It is very American. I get images of football, family reunions, roasted turkey with stuffing, and pumpkin pie. It is so heart warming.

And I like the origin and the meaning of this holiday: Giving thanks for the Creator’s gifts.
I believe this comes from Native people of North America. They held ceremonies to give thanks for successful harvests, for the hope of a good growing season in next spring, and for other good fortune such as the birth of a child.
We celebrate harvest in Japan, too. We have festivals in autumn which are usually sponsored by a local shrine or a temple. Those are usually related to the rice harvest.

I also like the story of the first Thanksgiving in America in 1621.

In 1621, the Plymouth colonists and Wampanoag Indians shared an autumn harvest feast that is acknowledged today as one of the first Thanksgiving celebrations in the colonies.

So, it is about accepting the people from different backgrounds and sharing the gifts from Mother Nature.

I have made Native Americans. I love the colour combination of their outfits and accessories.

IMG_6204

I have little girls. One of them can be a boy.
IMG_6208

And Teepies.

IMG_6207

It wasn’t too easy to place the patterns, but I think I managed it.

I got inspirations from looking at images of Native Americans. They are very talented artists.


Leave a Reply

