knits by sachi

My knitted gym instructors

on October 9, 2014

img_6738.jpg2
Another new exercise craze? Kettlebells. But did you know they were developed in Russia in the 1700s, primarily for weighing crops?

I hated excises when I was a child.
But last 20 odd years, I have always been a member of a gym somewhere and have been quite active.
Recently, I switched my gym membership to the family membership. Now everyone in my family get to use the gym, the pool and join in the fitness classes.

I didn’t pressure anyone. I introduced my older son to the spin (indoor group cycling class) and circuit training, and he enjoyed them. He started to bring his best friend. My younger son also joined.

My husband was very active in his teenage years playing tennis, but he has been busy with his work in adult years and hasn’t done much excise at all last two decades. But seeing us going off to the gym, he finally decided that it was his turn.

He came to a fitness class with me last week. We have been together over 17 years, but this was the very first time we did a fitness class together! He also got an induction for the gym and quite motivated to improve his fitness levels. I am very happy for him.

IMG_6748.jpg2
This is our instructor, Tracy. She teaches Body pump. The black thing by her face is a head mike.

One of the fun in the gym is you get to wear any colour you want. Some of our members dress in shocking pink and luminescent yellow. Our instructor looks great in very well colour coordinated outfits. I came up with making a set of instructors figures in her class.

Here is an aerobic instructor. I gave her the leg warmer and dumb bells.
IMG_6746

And a personal trainer,
IMG_6749

and pilates instructor with Yoga mat.
IMG_6747

Here is the full cast.
IMG_6741

I always paid a great attention to the diet of my family. I am the only one who goes to grocery shopping. My family eats what I buy and eats the food I cook. I believe there isn’t any more important task than cooking and feeding your family. Mums have an enormous responsibility.

Now, I am paying for the family gym membership. I will be nagging if it goes to waste!


8 responses to “My knitted gym instructors

  1. Oh I love the detail you always manage to put into your characters, especially those leg warmers! I only really go to the gym when I’m home with my parents, the rest of the time I don’t want to shell out that much so do exercise outside!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      That is good you exercise outside. It is much more fun than staying indoors. I drive to the gym, park my car as close as possible to the entrance! That is my sin. In England, it is nice to get to the gym. It rains so much. It is raining now.

  2. Cheryl says:

    So cute and original!

  3. Pam says:

    These are so cool. My daughter loves all thing Japanese, especially Manga and Anime. I would love to knit her your Japanese ladies in a previous post plus the little boy on the koi carp. Do you have any plans to release these as patterns? I am currently knitting the witch from Knit Now. My teddy tape measure turned out well so I am hoping this does too!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. Yes, all my knitting have a potential to go into a book some day. Koi carp may be included in knitted sea life book. It is great that your daughter is interested in Japanese culture. I hope she will learn some Japanese language, too.

      • Pam says:

        I will look forward to the book. Yes she is trying to learn Japanese! She is 11 and has a hiragana and katakana book plus lots of others. She is very cross that she has to learn French not japanese at school and was counting in japanese when she was supposed to be counting in french. Oops!

      • knitsbysachi says:

        That is great. Does she know there are sites you can watch Japanese dramas, movies and animes? You can also watch Japanese animated folk tales and these are fun, too. Good luck on her study. My boys never really developed interest in the language. They practice Karate and hold black belt though. And they absolutely love Japanese food!

Leave a Reply

