knits by sachi

Knitted Russian dolls

on October 2, 2014

I always wanted to make Matryoshka doll with knitting.

I am sure most people have seen these dolls. They are wooden dolls of decreasing size placed one inside the other.
As knitted toys, you cannot make them hollow inside and they will be stuffed with stuffing, but I thought it was a lovely idea to decorate my room with these.

But it turned out to be a bit of a challenge. It wasn’t as easy as I thought to design these dollies.

My first trial is this one. I made them a few years ago.
DSCF3083

Not bad, but I am not too sure if I like them. I like the colours and embroideries, but I thought I could improve the doll design somehow.

So, I decided to knit the head and the head scarf separately.
IMG_0798

Cute, but I am still not too happy.

I decided to put the project on hold. I need a better idea.

Last week, I tried these ones. I think they finally got the distinctive Russian doll character.
img_6449.jpg2

I started from the base of the body, changed colours to knit the scarf. I made the opening for the head as I knit the scarf and inserted the knitted and made up head inside the body piece. I started with the largest doll and decreased the stitches and rows to make smaller one. I was a bit concerned that the smallest could be too small, but I think it worked.

Embroidering was the most fun bit, and I enjoyed it very much.

Like them?


One response to “Knitted Russian dolls

  1. Very cute đŸ™‚ I think I actually prefer the first lot, but they’re all so awesome!

Leave a Reply

