knits by sachi

Pencil portraits

on September 30, 2014

This is a portrait done by my 16 year old son.

scan0077.jpg2

My older son has started six form this autumn. He has chosen Maths, further maths, physics and art for his A levels.

I thought adding art was a good idea. It is great to be creative. But it turned out that the art is the most demanding subject of all, and he is always drawing, painting, taking photos and researching.

This summer, he spent a lot of time drawing what he pleases.
I think his favorite is portraits.

I see more and more girls’ portraits like the one in above.

He likes pencil drawing, but sometimes, he uses water colour.

scan0079.jpg2

I think he is very talented.
He wants to experiment adding something more original to his work. There are hundreds of artists who do pencil portraits in similar style. You can turn your photos into drawings with photo editing tools these days. It cannot be done over night, but I want to establish my own style, he says.

scan0078.jpg2.jpg2
I am looking forward to seeing how his work develops from here.


10 responses to “Pencil portraits

  1. Wow, creativity obviously runs in your family .. His work is stunning! I’m sure you already tell him so, but pass along my “WOW!” please šŸ™‚

  2. Wow, lovely to see how creative your whole family is! I just love that watercolour!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! I didn’t too well in art class in school, but he has professional calligrapher grandma. His great grandma was a painter and his aunt teaches flower arrangement. Yes, creativity runs in my family.

  3. Your son’s work is amazing – really incredible for a sixteen-year-old. He will go far! He has an eye for the ladies too!

  4. Yeah.. Had to stop by and say WOW! Your son is extremely talented!

  5. Cheryl says:

    Your son does beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

