knits by sachi

Back to school

on September 8, 2014

img_6437.jpg2

The long summer holiday is finally over and kids are back to school last week.

My older son who just finished GCSE had three months holiday. He was quite happy returning to school. In six forms, he will be studying only his favorite subjects which are Maths, Further maths, Physics and Art. He is excited about having 10 hours of maths every week!

I cannot say I enjoyed school when I was young, and it was always hard to go back to school after a long holiday. But my children, especially the older son seems to enjoy learning. He is also teaching young children literacy and numeracy at a local tutoring centre as a volunteer staff. He wants to work part time and get paid one day, but he is getting precious experiences.

He is learning how to learn and how to teach.

I made this set to celebrate the arrival of new school year.

I have a lollipop lady (man),
IMG_6438.jpg2

I have a male teacher,
IMG_6441

a PE teacher,
IMG_6442
Oh, I should have get the kids dressed in PE kits, but never mind.

I have a headteacher, too.IMG_6447

Here is the full cast. I have a dinner lady in the back.
img_6446.jpg2

I heard that free dinner is available to all primary children in the UK. How amazing. My sons’ secondary school offers free breakfasts on the exam days. We are so so fortunate.

I am making people at work with knitting. I think you can make a look-alike and give someone as a gift.

Good idea?


9 responses to “Back to school

  1. I think making knitted co-workers to give to them is a wonderful idea! And I love the teachers and their books πŸ™‚ Such a wonderful imagination you have

  2. I think it’s a very cute idea.

  3. lucyannluna says:

    Love your knitted school. As a physics teacher I wish your son good luck , whose are difficult subjects ( just do as many questions as you can πŸ™‚ ) really glad to see art there, he will find that a refreshing brain break from all the maths.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you. I think it is a good balance of choice. He likes to relax as he draws and listen to his favorite music. But it seems art is quite demanding subject, and he spends hours researching and collecting ideas.

      • lucyannluna says:

        I also have an a level in art, I find doing craft things gives the brain something else to do, then the answer to that question that’s been bugging you appears.

  4. Cheryl says:

    So cute!! You are very talented!! Cheryl

  5. Cathy says:

    Hi, is there a pattern available for the dinner lady? thanks

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Sorry, I just did these and nothing is available yet. I am thinking of another book idea. I want to make people at work collection. Thank you so much for your interest. It is always so nice to receive feedback.

Leave a Reply

