knits by sachi

Knitting the world

on August 26, 2014

I would love to travel around the world some day, but for now, I am happy knitting it.
img_6201.jpg2

We had some visitors from Japan over the weekend, and they were quite shocked by the temperature here in the UK. We have had warned them, but they were shivering in short sleeves. It is still 30 degrees in most places in Japan.

The family is with four small children. It must be such a hard work flying 15 hours!

When I was single, I traveled often between New York, Tokyo and London because of my job. After my marriage, my husband and I have visited many places in the UK and some cities in Europe, but with children, I found it quite stressful to travel. Now my kids are much older, but the holidays cost much more. We visit Japan to see my parents every two or three years, but the airfares are enormous, and we use up all our holiday funds on these trips.

But some day, I will visit places that I always wanted to see.

The places warm and with lots of yummy fruits,
IMG_6256

The places with fun people,

img_6260

the places with fantastic animals,
IMG_6268

and interesting traditions and costumes.
IMG_6203.jpg2

It is fun knitting figures with traditional costumes. I made them in different sizes. You will see adult male, female, boy and girl, young children and babies. I am also throwing in different elements as animals and vehicles.

You can enjoy traveling this way, and it is utterly fantastic.

IMG_6265


7 responses to “Knitting the world

  1. triciandaisy says:

    Are you making a new book ? These look great Tricia

  2. Oh wow, these are all so amazing! I especially love the llama (and the palm trees!)

  3. knitsbysachi says:

    Thank you! The palm trees seem to be very popular. I just made them for props and didn’t expect to attract interest. I am pleasantly surprised.

  4. I love that little llama .. Actually, I love all of these! So adorable.

  5. Verónica says:

    Cute! Love the cactus.

Leave a Reply

