knits by sachi

Beach boys and a girl

on August 16, 2014

The day is getting shorter and it is getting much cooler. Will we be needing woolly jumpers soon? But It has been a lovely summer.

I made these beach children last week.
IMG_6304

Although I am a fully qualified swimming teacher, I didn’t teach my children any swimming strokes until they were about 6 years old. We didn’t do any water baby classes or mother and toddler lessons either. We just enjoyed playing in the water.

When we lived in Tokyo, going to a beach wasn’t too easy. Tokyo is very close to the ocean, however, you do need to travel some time for a dip in the water. I remember battling against traffic jams and spending a small fortune on toll fees of the motorways, we drove more than two hours for my little boys to have their first beach experience.

My younger son was fully equipped for this occasion. He had a swimming cap, arm bands and even goggles. But to my dismay, he didn’t want to go into the water. He was just over three years old and looked very cute in swimming gears, but at the same time, looked quite ridiculous with all that stuff on him. This image is still in my head and makes me smile whenever I think about it

I made this baby inspired by this image of my son.
img_6344.jpg2

And here are his big sister and brother.
IMG_6345

I don’t have a daughter, but I thought it would be nice to have a girl for this set.

And do my boys swim now? They joined a local swimming team for a few years and are still proficient swimmers.


2 responses to “Beach boys and a girl

  1. Cheryl says:

    Adorable !!!

Leave a Reply

