knits by sachi

Knitted beanstalk

on July 30, 2014

I think you know his name.
IMG_6064

I had an ambition to create the scene from “Jack and the beanstalk”, but how would I do that? “It is a bit difficult because there is a scale issue.” my son had said.

Then, I have to ignore that.

I knitted Jack first, and his mum. Oh, how I feel sympathy for his mum. She may not be well loved character in the story, but how can you blame her for telling her son off for trading their cow to a sack of seeds? I would have done exactly the same.

img_6067.jpg2

The beans too big? But this is a fantasy and anything is allowed.

I wasn’t too sure what to do with the giant. He is supposed to live in a house on a cloud. I thought about knitting a small house with his head stuck out, but it would be too heavy. I didn’t want to knit a huge giant chasing Jack, either. So, I decided to make him lie on the cloud and kept him asleep.
IMG_6065

By looking from this angle, Jack seems to have climbed up quite high. Actual size is only about 30cm.

The beanstalk is knitted in one piece and vines and beans are added. It has a cardboard cutout on the base. The top half is stuffed with wool and the bottom half has ceramic baking beads for stability. It is also supported with the garden wire inside.

You may think I am a bit mad, but I enjoyed making this one. It was challenging, too.

I am not too sure of the moral for this story. Is Jack a trickster? He stole form the giant. Well, never mind.

My son thinks I did well with this project. I got his approval.


7 responses to “Knitted beanstalk

  1. I love those peas and pea-pods 🙂

  2. Fantastic! A whole story in one picture. Great angle too, we focus on Jack but the sleeping giant looms ahead of him.

  3. I think you did well with this project too!

  4. Cheryl says:

    Too cute!!!

Leave a Reply

