knits by sachi

Knitted Space Shuttle

on July 17, 2014

IMG_6188
This is another project I always wanted to try: the Space Shuttle.

The Space Shuttle, what a nice name. Whoever named it is very clever.

When I start a new project, I always Google research the images. I know it is a bit lazy but, we don’t go to a library anymore these days. You get to see many photos and they are up to date.

I realized I knew nothing about the Shuttle. Last time when I knitted an airplane, I managed to sew the wings wrong way around. You may think it isn’t possible, but I did. Silly. It end up looking like a flying bird. The images in your head are very unreliable.

I wanted to do this project because, I wanted to create quirky looking astronauts. I was more interested in astronauts than the Shuttle itself, I must say.
IMG_6190

And the American flag. I had to have the American flag, but this turned out to be rather difficult. Actually, the flag was the hardest of all. I had three trials to make it look all right.
I used 4-ply yarn so that the flag would have enough colours. I also wanted to avoid making it too big or heavy. But it had many yarn ends to treat at the end which were a bit annoying.

I wonder if I would go on a space holiday if I was given an opportunity. Maybe not. I prefer to have 100 balls of yarn instead and knit astronauts at home.

IMG_6189


5 responses to “Knitted Space Shuttle

  1. I honestly look forward to your posts because everything is so. darn. cute!

  2. knitsbysachi says:

    Thank you so much! Do give me suggestions and request for projects when you come up with one. I enjoy the challenge.

  3. We got to see the Endeavor last year, so it’s pretty exciting to see a knit version of a space shuttle!

  4. That is so cool!Is it a chart anywhere- my sister would love one? Or can I try and copy what you did?

    • knitsbysachi says:

      For the flag? No, I made it up. I will write a chart sometime then, but I will need to add some instructions how to change yarn and all. You may be able to find something similar online. Google image “American flag, cross stitch patterns”. I quite often use cross stitch patterns to knit small colour patterns.

Leave a Reply

