knits by sachi

Knitted bird house

on July 12, 2014

IMG_6070

When you add a new listing on Etsy or Ravelry, you are asked to categorize your item. Quite often I wonder how I do this, because I don’t know which category I should choose. What are my knitted items?

I guess I enjoy the making process so much and forget to plan what to do with them afterwards. My granddad used to tease me, saying I waste my time making the most useless things. He may be right, but I think this wasted time may be more important than the time you spend doing your chores. You never know, Granddad. Creating something makes me happy and that is all what matters to me anyway.

My granddad passed away long time ago, but I can almost hear him. He would say the same thing if he saw this bird house, not in a bad way but with a big smile on his face. He was a kind, sweet and generous man.

It doesn’t have much use besides a room decorations and it sits in my room. I have tiny colourful birds as residents.

img_6102.jpg2

I used a cereal box inside. I wasn’t too sure if I could make the hole neatly, but I managed with crochet edge.
I designed it as I proceed and, I realized that I should have crocheted the edge before I made it all up and attach the knitted piece on the box! It was rather fiddly and difficult, but I know I could do it better next time.

The weather has been dull and chilly, but my colourful birds are cheering me up.

IMG_6071

See, it is very useful.


6 responses to “Knitted bird house

  1. chrissieknits says:

    Your work is Art. And your wonderful creations always make me smile. Don’t ever stop!

  2. Your work is beautiful .. And your happiness whilst creating is what matters I think. Love love love your little bird and house .. So talented!

  3. sandra says:

    Utterly charming!

Leave a Reply

