knits by sachi

Knitted birdland

on June 15, 2014

IMG_5977
I have knitted many birds recently. I don’t know how I call the set, but for now, my pattern file says “knitted bird land”.

I designed some birds for the safari book and the woodland book, but since there was a scale matter, I needed to make them small and simple. This time, just as the sea life knits, I completely ignore the scale and knitted as I like.

It isn’t difficult just to knit a bird. If you knit an oblong body and add wings, anything can look like a bird. But birds have limited features. They are beautiful and amazing creatures, but I cannot say they do things as interesting as monkeys. It becomes rather boring if I knit a bird just as it is.

So, I decided to give them more characters. The chubby parrot is my first one.
May be there is something to do with the positioning of the eyes and the beak, I found it very difficult to make cute faces. I think this one worked all right.

Then, I thought about creating a scene with some birds conversing with each other. I quite like this trio.
IMG_5971.jpg2

I like giving a spotlight to these animals which are not very well loved by humans. It is unfair that we perceive animals so unequally by the looks and the behaviors. They are just doing what they do.

img_6007.jpg2

I like creating mummy and babies sets.
IMG_6002img_6010.jpg2

You can tell that I have a good mum.

I have made a family with a daddy. Fathers don’t come in play as much as mothers in my creations. My father was a little distant in my childhood, but I developed a better relationship as I get older.

IMG_6039

Happy Father’s Day!! I love you very much, Dad!


4 responses to “Knitted birdland

  1. Valerie says:

    Your little birds are delightful,especially the three chatting.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Too cute!!!

Leave a Reply

