knits by sachi

My book #3

on May 30, 2014

IMG_0319
The draft for the second book should be arriving any time soon and, I will be busy checking each pattern.
But I have another book I will be working on soon. This one is “Little knitted toys” (or called something like that).

Originally, this book was meant to be one of the “20 to make” series. You may have seen them, Search Press has many small, A-5 size books on a variety of craft. I have quite many of them myself. This book was commissioned to someone else last year, but it didn’t work with the author due to her personal circumstances.

Then, I was offered to step in. “Can you make 20 small toys?” Of course, I can make a 100 of small toys!

I made some samples for the chief editor for the editorial meeting. Luckily, the book was upgraded and will become a normal sized book.

This one will be a collection of toys with different types and sizes. I want to have something for everyone. For this book, I have been keeping most of my patterns unpublished.

I am thinking about three parts for the book.

The first section: quick and easy toy.
A single item like this
DSCF5217
or simple patterns like this
DSCF5082

The second section: still easy, but a little more involved.

IMG_0580
IMG_0805

And then, the larger projects. You have a large centre piece and little figures to go with it.
Like this
IMG_0022

and this
IMG_0014

I don’t know if this one needs to many spreads.

img_0177.jpg2

The editorial meeting is coming up in two weeks and, we are going to pick projects. Nothing has been firmly decided yet.
Do you have any requests or suggestions?


10 responses to “My book #3

  1. chrissieknits says:

    What can I say? You are amazing! Congratulations on your new book commission!

  2. Julie Henn says:

    Oh, WOW!! Book no 3!!!! How fantastic and exciting!! I like the concept of three different sections. You seem to have the projects sorted, but for my suggestion, I’d LOVE The Fab Four as a collection, or “All things British”, mythical and magical beasts (dragons and dinosaurs etc), but what you’ve thought of would make a FAB book, so maybe for book 4?? 😉 You’ve shown us so MANY of your wonderful creation and I’d love to see them all in print, even if I never get to make them all, I could browse the books and “ooh! and Aah!” to my heart’s content. Whatever you do is genius, so trust your instincts and submit with confidence. XXX =^..^=

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you, Julie. Yes, I have many ideas for books! “Mythical and magical beasts” is a fantastic idea. I was going to make Nessie, too. I may add some fairies, gnomes and trolls and make it into another book!! Thank you so much!!

  3. they are all so adorable! the submarine and the castle are my favourites 🙂

  4. Cheryl says:

    So cute! Love the elephant and cavemen. All your hard work will pay off soon.

  5. Charlotte says:

    I like them all, my 25 year old son, who loves strategy games, likes the aliens & the castle + knights scenes.

Leave a Reply

