knits by sachi

Asian texitles

on May 11, 2014

DSCF4308

I love Asian traditional textiles. We have the kimono in Japan of course and, I believe it is one of the most beautiful ethnic costume in the world.

Indian Saris are another of my favorite. They are stunning. They look very comfy, too. I would love to try one on some day.

Last week at the spinners group, we had a guest speaker, Jennifer Hughes BA, who gave us a talk on Asian Textiles.
This is what I love about my spinners’ group. You get to learn many new things.

Jennifer lived in Thailand for 7 years in 90’s due to her husband’s job relocation. Being a keen weaver herself, she was fascinated by Asian fabrics and studied the art. She also traveled many countries and collected fabrics all over the Asia.

IMG_5871

Aren’t they amazing.

These textiles are made with the dyeing technique called “Ikat”.
Although I have seen and admired the Asian fabrics, I had never even wondered how they were made. I heard this word the first time.

Ikat is a dyeing technique used to pattern textiles that employs a resist dyeing process.
In ikat, the resist is formed by binding bundles of threads with a tight wrapping applied in the desired pattern.
Like this
IMG_5867

The threads are then dyed.

This thread is dyed only once. The bindings may then be altered and the thread bundles dyed again with another color to produce elaborate, multicolored patterns.
IMG_5858

When the dyeing is finished the bindings are removed and the threads are woven into cloth.

She showed us many samples came from many different parts of Asia.

IMG_5852
IMG_5857

Ikat is most characteristic of Indonesia, but also been woven in India and central Asia and even in Japan. These fabrics are from Japan.
IMG_5866

The patterns look familiar to me, but I had no idea how it was made. I got to know more about my own culture.

She had also brought some goodies for sale which were hard to resist; little buttons, beads, threads and fabric pieces… They were all so lovely.
IMG_5849IMG_5850

And I got those.
IMG_5883

I think I want to knit some elephants this size with colourful bells and decorations, and hang them as a room ornament.

I had a very informative and inspirational afternoon!


2 responses to “Asian texitles

  1. I love all the beautiful fabrics, they never cease to amaze me with how delicate and colourful they are. I love the knitted elephant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

