knits by sachi

Magical mystery knitting tour

on May 8, 2014

IMG_1132
With the development of internet, we get many choices of language learning tools online these days. But the story was very different 30 years ago.

I started learning English when I entered in secondary school. English was compulsory and still is in Japan. I was given a textbook, but no CD came with it. We didn’t have CDs then. My teacher was a Japanese who probably had never actually spoken to a native English speaker. I was growing up in a quiet country side.

I needed to make extra effort to learn how the language was spoken, and the best tool I could find was music records.
Movies on TV was all dubbed in Japanese and, I had to travel a long distance if I wanted to watch a foreign film in a cinema.

Radios, records and cassette tapes. good old days.

I loved the Beatles. They had already split up when I found out about them, but I collected all their music. Lyrics were relatively easy to understand apart from a few odd ones and, they helped me developing my pronunciations and increasing vocabularies.

I spent most of my teenage years with Duran Duran and Culture Club after that, but The Beatles was my first encounter to the modern western culture.

I always wanted to create something related to the band and here it is;
The four guys and
IMG_1134

the tour busIMG_1133

I like designing knits adults can enjoy making. This is the bus which takes you to all fantastic yarn shops, exhibitions and workshops around the world.

Isn’t that fantastic?


12 responses to “Magical mystery knitting tour

  1. Julie Henn says:

    I just love this so much!!! You should consider doing an “English” book, with your Beatles, castle and knight, St George and the dragon, London bus and guards, the Queen and Prince Philip. Oh, it would be FAB! You are so TALENTED!!!!!!

  2. Julie Henn says:

    What I should REALLY say is, how commendable to persevere learning the complicated language of English the way you did! I agree that learning through music must have helped – The Beatles reached out to the world!! I grew up in South Africa, when the main language was English – England seemed so different to me, so can’t imagine how challenging learning English and a different culture was for you! You obviously have an adventurous and extremely creative spirit!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Things have changed so much since the time I was trying to learn English. Now you get to see YouTube and films online. The only drama I could watch was “The little house on the prairie” on the Japanese National Television!
      Doing “English” book is a great idea, too. Thank you for the idea!

  3. Heh, amazing and inspirational things can be found in the different cultures of the world, alright! Speaking of which, I want to learn Japanese, since I want to go to Japan and learn more about its art…and to also be able to communicate to some inspirational people who have positively influenced me and my life greatly! Like most kids these days, I got introduced to Japanese culture through anime…but I became more interested in learning more about Japan after encountering Jin’s/Shizen no Teki-P’s Kagerou Project! Well, as of now, I’m trying to set some time for learning the Japanese language…and my artworks are filled and are going to be filled with references to various popular Japanese artworks….hehe, freaking nuts! ^_^

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Good luck with your Japanese. You can get many learning tools online. It is fantastic that you are interested in Japanese culture. I hope you will get to visit Japan soon. It is certainly a great place to visit. My boys love the food!

  4. my sister LOVES the beatles! she would adore this, its so cute 🙂

  5. knitsbysachi says:

    Thank you! Please show it to her.

  6. Jane goodman says:

    Are you selling this pattern?

  7. I love it! Great music and great knits! 🙂
    You are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

