knits by sachi

Children’s day

on May 5, 2014

images (24)images (23)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today is the Children’s day (kodomo no hi) in Japan. It is a national holiday which takes place annually on May 5.
Originally, it was known as Boys’ Day (also known as Feast of Banners) while Girls’ Day (Hina dolls’ day) was celebrated on March 3. In late 40’s, the government decreed this day to be a national holiday to celebrate the happiness of all children. It was renamed Kodomo no Hi.

On this day, families with young boys fly colourful streamers and enormous kites in the shape of carp fish from a large pole in the garden. Some rivers are famous for large display. You get to see many carp streamers flowing above the river.

Fotor042918592

The carp is a strong, robust fish, renowned for its energy and determination as it swims upstream against the current. We pray that boys also overcome obstacles and be successful.

In side the houses families display traditional warrior dolls.
Fotor0504114224

Every family with a boy has a set of warrior dolls just as a girl has a set of Hina-dolls. Here, my boys were celebrating the day with my brother’s set some years ago. Ha,ha.

SCAN0043

Of course, I knitted a boy doll for this occasion. The boy is riding a koi carp, wearing the Japanese kabuto helmet.

IMG_5848

Yes, I have to knit everything.

.


2 responses to “Children’s day

  1. Julie Henn says:

    How interesting!!! I enjoy learning about different cultures and traditions. Thank-you for sharing! Your boys were just the cutest little ones! Your knitted carp and boy are FAB!! Your creativity knows no boundaries!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you, Julie. I realized we, Japanese are doll lovers. I would like many people to know about our culture and, I am very pleased that you enjoy reading about it. Yes, I like my carp myself, too. I like the mouth.

Leave a Reply

