knits by sachi

Spring cleaning my wheel

on April 1, 2014

Here is my doll wearing my hand-dyed, hand-spun and hand-knitted outfits.
DSCF2595
I haven’t got around to do much spinning lately, and my wheel was sitting in the corner of my room looking rather lonely. It may have been collecting dust.

So I gave it a good cleaning. At the next spinners’ meeting, we are leaning the technique called “long draw”. I am not too sure what it is, but I would like to have a go at it.

I bought my wheel second hand from a fellow spinner at the club 10 years ago. I had just joined the club and didn’t know a thing about spinning yarn. It must be the best way to buy a wheel, buying second hand from a proficient spinner who lives locally. She has given me so much help and guidance every time I see her at the meeting.

There are some different types of spinning wheel.
The traditional looking one like this,
download (5)

a little more compact one like this,
images (3)

and a super compact and foldable one like this.
fotor033119164.png2

At my club, the first one and the third one seem to be popular, but mine is the second one. It is Oakney, Scottish made.

Here it is.
IMG_1017

Oakney is similar to a better known make, the Ashford Traveller, which is as well-made as the traditional.

It is an upright or ‘castle’ style wheel. The flyer, which is the horse-shoe shaped piece of wood surrounding the bobbin, is positioned over the wheel giving the wheel a much smaller footprint than the Traditional. The compact design is therefore more portable – it is easy to carry and fits in the boot of my car easily.

I love my spinning wheel. It isn’t quite an antique yet, but it may be getting there. I love the dark wooden colour. I wanted to have something more compact than a traditional, but I didn’t want to go for a too modern look. If I was to buy a wheel again, I would definitely choose this one again.

I started spinning because I wanted to learn the art of knitting from the very basic. I also dreamed of creating yarns like “Noro” by myself. Isn’t that great if you could design not only your knitting items but the yarn for the project as well?

It takes a little practice to get a hang of it, but it doesn’t matter if your yarn comes out uneven. It is all right to be clumsy. They will turn out all so beautiful.

IMG_0357


3 responses to “Spring cleaning my wheel

  1. tilleyb says:

    hello! I nominated you for a Liebster Award award, you can read more about it here:
    http://limegreenlady.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/aeroplanes-and-awards/
    Thanks for the blog, I love reading it! LGLx

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you very much! I am so pleased. I am still new to blogging and , I do not know much about blog awards. I will find out more. Thank you again.

      • tilleyb says:

        I am similarly new, so I can relate! The award is nominated by fellow bloggers, and gives you a chance to pass it onto some bloggers you admire. It’s a really cute concept! Like your knits…

Leave a Reply

