knits by sachi

Japanese paper dolls

on March 28, 2014

IMG_0136
As I learn to make Waldorf dolls, I started wanting to explore more in doll making.
There are so many different dolls, but I chose Japanese dolls. I guess I wanted to get in touch with my roots and learn more about my own culture.

I remembered that my mother had a large Japanese paper doll in a glass case at home. She said she made it by herself at a WI meeting years ago. It is a gorgeous lady doll wearing a traditional kimono. I certainly wanted to try this craft and got myself these books online.

IMG_1004

The book has very clear, well detailed step-by-step instructions.
IMG_1006

It has the flat doll projects and the 3-D doll projects. I had a go at the flat ones first and move on to a little more advanced dolls.
DSCF0155
IMG_0134

The 3-D dolls have the basic frame which is made with thin wires wrapped with cotton wool. I bought small polyethylene balls and wrapped them with tissue paper for the head. I could not find all the materials that the book suggests, but I could use alternatives.

The books have projects with the dolls wearing modern outfits, and these gave me inspirations for my knitting.
IMG_1009

Unfortunately, I don’t think these books are translated in English. I hope someone will take on the task. It is utterly fantastic to create dolls with just using paper.
IMG_0131

For me, shopping for paper is as exciting as shopping for yarns. In fact, I love all craft materials.

Once my friend said that I have as much material stock as a small craft shop which ran out of business, and I think she wasn’t too wrong. But all craft give me ideas for knitting and the best of all, I enjoy them all.


5 responses to “Japanese paper dolls

  1. lovely!! Tutorials plzzz!!

Leave a Reply

