knits by sachi

Gingerbread house

on March 13, 2014

IMG_0475
A gingerbread house! A house made with cookies, chocolate and candies!
It is a dream house for little children.

I loved the story “Hansel and Gretel”. As a child, I innocently believed it was a story about two lucky children who found a gingerbread house in the woods. I was fascinated with the idea of finding a house made with sweets and didn’t care to know what the story was really about.

Many years later I read it again and was very shocked to find how cruel this story was.

There is a famine in the village. The children’s pathetic father tries to leave them in the woods because his new wife tells him to do so.
The children finds the witch’s gingerbread house. The witch offers them to stay with her planning to fatten them up and eat them later.
The children are clever and rather cunning. They managed to fool the witch and shove the witch into the oven and slams and bolts the door shut, leaving “The ungodly witch to be burned to ashes”.

I am not too sure if this is a story I want to tell to small children at their bedtime.

I always wanted to knit a gingerbread house. I recently made one finally.

IMG_0477

To make it look like made with sweets, I added colourful bobbles. I used Snow Flake chunky yarn for frosting cream effect. I made the same sized house with a empty cereal box and encased it with knitted pieces.

My gingerbread tale is about two lucky children and a kind witch just as I believed when I was little. No famine, no cruelty, no cannibalism.
IMG_0476

I enjoyed this project very much. I want to make another one for Christmas.


14 responses to “Gingerbread house

  1. lucyannluna says:

    It’s so cute I love it, will look so good a christmas

  2. rae says:

    Will you share the pattern? It’s beautiful!

  3. Wow! That is so beautiful! You are quite talented. Thank you for sharing this!

  4. Beautiful! And your version of the story is much nicer.

  5. Just when I thought your creations couldn’t get any cuter, you make these! This was one of my favourite stories as a child, I adore them 🙂

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you very much! It took me a while to complete the house, but it was such a fun project. I have made a real gingerbread house for Christmas once, but I think I prefer knitting one.

  6. Just letting you know that I was nominated for the liebster award and had to nominate 11 others. I have nominated you, Ive submitted a post all about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

