knits by sachi

Choux a la creme

on March 9, 2014

IMG_0712

This year for my son’s birthday, I decided to make “choux a la creme” instead of a birthday cake.

Choux a la creme. It is a cream puff in English. I wonder why it sounds so much more posh when we use the French name.

They are my children’s favorite and I just wanted to see big smiles on their faces.

But there was a small problem. I had forgotten how to make them.

The lot I made on my son’s birthday didn’t turn out the way they should. I guess the dough was too thick and didn’t rise well. I changed the recipe a little and tried a few more times. And at the end, I found it isn’t the amounts of ingredients you use which matters, but how you cook it.

To make it simple, I use these ingredients.

Choux a la creme recipe

50g butter cut into small cubes
50g flour
100cc water
2-3 eggs at room temperature and beaten well

Place the water, butter in a pan and bring it to boil. When the water start sizzling and making small bubbles on the edge of the pan, add flour all in one go and stir vigorously. Soon the dough start coming off the base and shaping into a ball. Remove from the heat.

cream puffs2

Add half the egg and cook over medium heat for 30 seconds, stirring vigorously. My pan conducts heat well so I do not heat too long. Soon the egg start cooperating with the dough and become a thick paste. Remove from the heat.

You add the remaining egg bit by bit until the paste is soft and smooth. The paste should be thick but soft and when you lift the spoon, it should drop slowly, leaving a triangle shape on the spoon.
cream puffs

The key is you keep adding the egg to the mixture until you reach this point. Sometimes the dough cooks on its own heat and becomes too thick at the end. It is safe to have extra egg and keep adding until the paste achieve this thickness.

You can drop the paste on the baking sheet using spoon, or pipe them neatly like this.
4fe290abd0553
I tried a plastic pipe bag without a metal tip yesterday. It worked fine and needed no cleaning afterwards.

Bake them in a 190 C (370 F) preheated oven for 20 minutes, reduce to 180 C (350 F) and bake further 15 minutes. Turn off the heat and leave them in the oven for 5 minutes.

This is what I made yesterday.

IMG_0710

I cannot tell you how pleased I was! I did it! Don’t they look nice?

I filled them with custard and whipped cream.

It doesn’t take much to make me a happy person.


3 responses to “Choux a la creme

  1. got2focus says:

    They do look nice! My son also loves cream puffs. What a great reminder to make them for the next party.

  2. That looks so delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

