knits by sachi

Knitted dinosaurs

on February 23, 2014

IMG_0481
I made a dinosaur set the other day.

I have been creating items of all sizes and shapes with free spirit recently.

I just knit whatever I fancy making. I get inspirations from everywhere.

It could be something I saw in a show window. You get to see many interesting things in charity shops.
Cartoons and images in internet are great source, too.

I’d like to create soft woolly figures for everyone to enjoy, especially for young children.

Children have phases that they become very interested in certain things and, I think dinosaur is one of them.
Adults get to learn a lot alongside of the children.

My older son had the shark phase and the big cat phase.

I remember taking him to the book signing and lecture event with Jonathan Scott, the author of “The big cat diary”.
We traveled all the way to London on a school night. It was a bit strange event, because they didn’t have books to sign! The book wasn’t ready. But it was nice to see someone on the television and we enjoyed his talk very much.

It is a bit of a shame that neither of my sons had the dinosaur phase.
Hence, I don’t know much about dinosaurs. My dinos are my own imaginations.

IMG_0480

It is fun to play with colours.

IMG_0479


11 responses to “Knitted dinosaurs

  1. Julie Henn says:

    These are WONDERFUL!!! I DO hope you make these patterns available for us to buy! You creativity, talent and inspiration continue to amaze me!! I love they way you set up your creations in tableau, showing them off to perfection.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I hand-dyed the felt. We used for the book, too. We struggle to set up the background the first day of photo shoots so I brought my hand dyed felt. It worked well. Thank you very much for your nice comment as always!

  2. I adore these! Do you sell them? 🙂

  3. cwedler says:

    I’ve known a lot of children that would love to play with dinosaurs. I think children love small things they can hold in their hands and play act with them. So cute and so were the farm animals.

  4. lmjapan says:

    So cute, I especially love the stegosaurus and triceratops. And you even have a flying pterodactyl, you thought of everything!

Leave a Reply

